Author Topic: Will my PI work with picap?  (Read 1092 times)

Offline Northernwarrior

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Dec 2016
  • Location:
  • Posts: 36
  • Kudos: 0
Will my PI work with picap?
« on: March 02, 2017, 09:27:50 PM »
I'm not sure which version my rpi is hence the pic.  When looking at picap videos my concern is my go pins are shorter then what I see


2nd. I ordered beginning of Feb.  Any idea when the next round of shipments will be shipped out ?

Thanks in advance,

Ron

Offline CaptainMurdoch

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2013
  • Location: Washington
  • Posts: 9,856
  • Kudos: 214
Re: Will my PI work with picap?
« Reply #1 on: March 02, 2017, 09:38:11 PM »
The PiCap has a 40 pin header and will not fit that Pi.  That is an original model B with the 26 pin header.  That model also only supports one string of pixels since it only has one PWM output while newer model Pi's with the 40 pin header have two PWM outputs and support two strings.

You could use some form of adapter cable to go from that Pi to the PiCap but you would only have one string output.
-
Chris

Offline JonB256

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Granbury, Texas
  • Posts: 5,303
  • Kudos: 127
    • Granbury Christmas Lights
Re: Will my PI work with picap?
« Reply #2 on: March 03, 2017, 07:22:49 AM »
Ron, I have two of those, now retired. :(

I have heard that local Radio hobbyists are using them and have offered them. No takers yet.

You need a Pi 3.

Offline Northernwarrior

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Dec 2016
  • Location:
  • Posts: 36
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Will my PI work with picap?
« Reply #3 on: March 03, 2017, 09:15:44 AM »
Weĺl I guess an rpi 3 is in my future.  I guess having wifi is an advantage so why the hell not


Any idea when the picaps are being shipped ?

Offline CaptainMurdoch

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2013
  • Location: Washington
  • Posts: 9,856
  • Kudos: 214
Re: Will my PI work with picap?
« Reply #4 on: March 03, 2017, 01:12:03 PM »
Ron, I have two of those, now retired. :(

I have heard that local Radio hobbyists are using them and have offered them. No takers yet.

Asterisk VOIP server, Logitech Media Server (aka Squeezebox) client, security camera (MotionEyeOS), NAS backup server, I can think of lots of uses for them.  :)

Offline SlammedNiss

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Jan 2017
  • Location:
  • Posts: 29
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Will my PI work with picap?
« Reply #5 on: March 04, 2017, 09:46:01 PM »
Ron, I have two of those, now retired. :(

I have heard that local Radio hobbyists are using them and have offered them. No takers yet.

You need a Pi 3.

I had to sell my original RPi rev.B locally for $25 via a local Facebook b/s/t group and turn around and buy an RPi 3.
People's misconceptions on adjustable suspensions usually come from a lack of knowledge.

 

Back to top