Author Topic: SP200E tester/controller not working. Please help  (Read 1590 times)

Offline Yamr6rider

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Jan 2017
  • Location: Oklahoma
  • Posts: 106
  • Kudos: 2
  • Here we go!
SP200E tester/controller not working. Please help
« on: March 13, 2017, 04:31:14 PM »
So, I admit I know nothing about actually lighting pixels...  but, I have a 12v ps, 12v pixels, and a 5v-24v "pixel tester"(SP200E). This is the second one I've had. I hooked it up as shown. I checked beforehand the orientation of the wires to the string. What am I doing wrong here?

Please help.
Jon
Jon

Offline AAH

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Location: Australia
  • Posts: 740
  • Kudos: 19
  • Blinky blinky blinky
    • I love blinky lights
Re: SP200E tester/controller not working. Please help
« Reply #1 on: March 13, 2017, 06:53:26 PM »
The photos are good but aren't showing the connections to the pixels. You're using nodes which may be 12V but it's exceptionally common that they are 5V. On the pcb within the pixel there should be markings saying 12V, Di (for Data in) and 0V. Check that you're connected to the Din end of the string and not the Dout end  It looks like the connector was supplied fitted to the pixels but confirm the the 0V, Data and +V wire colours line up.

Offline jnealand

  • Developer
  • ******
  • Join Date: Aug 2013
  • Location: Kennesaw, GA
  • Posts: 2,947
  • Kudos: 68
Re: SP200E tester/controller not working. Please help
« Reply #2 on: March 13, 2017, 06:58:37 PM »
Also the middle wire is almost always the data line.  With out a connection to the data line nothing will light up.  I'm not familiar with the SP200E, but on the tester that I bought the big mistake I made was that I needed to power the tester in addition to powering the pixels.  Once I fixed that ll was fine.
Jim Nealand
Kennesaw, GA all Falcon controllers, all 12v Master Remote Multisync with Pi and BBB P10 and P5

Offline Yamr6rider

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Jan 2017
  • Location: Oklahoma
  • Posts: 106
  • Kudos: 2
  • Here we go!
Re: SP200E tester/controller not working. Please help
« Reply #3 on: March 13, 2017, 07:20:37 PM »
Here's a string of only 5 pixels. Now the first one lights up white, but nothing else downstream. When I hook up the tube, I get random pixels each time I plug and unplug doing red. Sometimes, the first one lights up red, yellow, or white. I haven't seen blue at all. They are 12v. This is frustrating.  I thought you were supposed to be able to hook these things up through a simple controller to a power supply, and get blinking lights.

Offline Yamr6rider

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Jan 2017
  • Location: Oklahoma
  • Posts: 106
  • Kudos: 2
  • Here we go!
Re: SP200E tester/controller not working. Please help
« Reply #4 on: March 13, 2017, 07:25:21 PM »
It makes no difference if the data is hooked up or not. Also, is it bad to "hot swap" these? I wasn't at first, but have since started being less and less gentle with these

Offline AAH

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Location: Australia
  • Posts: 740
  • Kudos: 19
  • Blinky blinky blinky
    • I love blinky lights
Re: SP200E tester/controller not working. Please help
« Reply #5 on: March 13, 2017, 09:32:57 PM »
It isn't great to hot swap them. There has been known to be problem with some 12V nodes not actually liking 12V so much. Try winding the voltage down to 11.5-11.9V and see if that makes it happier. I also couldn't see clearly if you're connecting to the Din or Dout side of the pixel.

Offline AAH

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Location: Australia
  • Posts: 740
  • Kudos: 19
  • Blinky blinky blinky
    • I love blinky lights
Re: SP200E tester/controller not working. Please help
« Reply #6 on: March 15, 2017, 11:25:31 PM »
Did the problem end up being resolved?

Offline Yamr6rider

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Jan 2017
  • Location: Oklahoma
  • Posts: 106
  • Kudos: 2
  • Here we go!
Re: SP200E tester/controller not working. Please help
« Reply #7 on: March 16, 2017, 04:42:10 AM »
No, I'm thinking I've either got a bad string of lights or have done something to damage their circuitry. It's the only string I own so far, so I have to buy another to be able to check that theory.

Offline Emuney18

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Nov 2015
  • Location: Apex, NC
  • Posts: 593
  • Kudos: 7
Re: SP200E tester/controller not working. Please help
« Reply #8 on: March 16, 2017, 05:11:37 AM »
I have a similar tester. If you checked everything everyone else said and made sure your hooked to the data in side it should work.  Just curious, is anything attached to the other end of the alligator clips?  I'm assuming you are using them for quick connection. Have you tried just twisting the wires to the tester? 


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Offline rlemery

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Feb 2015
  • Location: Morganton,NC
  • Posts: 370
  • Kudos: 5
Re: SP200E tester/controller not working. Please help
« Reply #9 on: March 16, 2017, 06:31:30 AM »
Odds are if by chance you did damage the pixels only the first one in line was damaged.  I had this happen when I hooked up the wires wrong.  You can try cutting out the first pixel then trying again.

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk

728 lor channels
5492 pixels

Offline Yamr6rider

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Jan 2017
  • Location: Oklahoma
  • Posts: 106
  • Kudos: 2
  • Here we go!
Re: SP200E tester/controller not working. Please help
« Reply #10 on: March 16, 2017, 07:22:32 AM »
Odds are if by chance you did damage the pixels only the first one in line was damaged.  I had this happen when I hooked up the wires wrong.  You can try cutting out the first pixel then trying again.

UGH.... I'll be able to test using another method when the PiCap I ordered comes in.  I feel pretty discouraged at the moment...

Offline Yamr6rider

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Jan 2017
  • Location: Oklahoma
  • Posts: 106
  • Kudos: 2
  • Here we go!
Re: SP200E tester/controller not working. Please help
« Reply #11 on: March 30, 2017, 08:42:05 PM »
Success! Thanks to David and his great team for the PiCap!

Offline Emuney18

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Nov 2015
  • Location: Apex, NC
  • Posts: 593
  • Kudos: 7
Re: SP200E tester/controller not working. Please help
« Reply #12 on: March 31, 2017, 05:34:22 AM »
Success! Thanks to David and his great team for the PiCap!
So the pixels are fine it's just a bad cheap tester?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Offline Yamr6rider

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Jan 2017
  • Location: Oklahoma
  • Posts: 106
  • Kudos: 2
  • Here we go!
Re: SP200E tester/controller not working. Please help
« Reply #13 on: March 31, 2017, 07:40:38 AM »
So the pixels are fine it's just a bad cheap tester?

Yep, just goes to show ya if you want something done right, go to #DavidPitts!

https://youtu.be/iIvIcQBlkRM

 

Back to top