Author Topic: Think I screwed up  (Read 1040 times)

Offline Northernwarrior

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Dec 2016
  • Location:
  • Posts: 36
  • Kudos: 0
Think I screwed up
« on: March 31, 2017, 04:13:48 PM »
one of the 5a fuses blew and now when i try and start the rpi it is saying
fsck died with exit status 8


other noteable lines:


sulogin: root account is locked


heres a pic


can i change the fuse?   will this fix my problem?   how do i take the fuse out ?




man o man - just when i wanted to play tonight with this.




what i did :   i have ws2811 strips that have leads at each end for injection.   when i plugged in a string, i didn't ensure the +/- weren't close to eachother.


guess what - they were grrrrr.   hence i gather reason for blown fuse




please chime in and let me know I just didn't fry the picap or rpi
« Last Edit: March 31, 2017, 04:50:10 PM by Northernwarrior »

Offline aknflyer

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Dec 2016
  • Location: Anchorage, AK
  • Posts: 177
  • Kudos: 7
Re: Think I screwed up
« Reply #1 on: March 31, 2017, 10:10:25 PM »
That looks very similar to the problem I had when I powered off the unit without doing a shutdown from the pc. Looks like the pi program is corrupt. I bet your short interrupted power to the Pi in the same way. Just reformat your micro sd card, reinstall the Pi software, then it should boot. Then you will have to do updates, go back through all the settings, sequence and audio.
If the fuse is on the PiCap, just pull it out and replace it. (its probably the fuse for the light string that shorted)
« Last Edit: March 31, 2017, 11:46:19 PM by aknflyer »

Offline JonB256

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Granbury, Texas
  • Posts: 5,305
  • Kudos: 127
    • Granbury Christmas Lights
Re: Think I screwed up
« Reply #2 on: April 01, 2017, 06:34:23 AM »
I'd try putting the SD card and USB stick in your PC first and doing a check disk on them. The corruption might be minor.

Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk


Offline Northernwarrior

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Dec 2016
  • Location:
  • Posts: 36
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Think I screwed up
« Reply #3 on: April 01, 2017, 11:18:23 AM »
So I got the 5A fuse out, but having a hell of a time finding another one.   Can I use a 4A fuse ?

Offline JonB256

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Granbury, Texas
  • Posts: 5,305
  • Kudos: 127
    • Granbury Christmas Lights
Re: Think I screwed up
« Reply #4 on: April 02, 2017, 06:03:09 AM »
So I got the 5A fuse out, but having a hell of a time finding another one.   Can I use a 4A fuse ?

Any car parts place should have them. Yes, a 4A will work but will, of course, burn out at a lower value. Resist the temptation to go higher.

 

Back to top