Author Topic: 9600 pixels and the F16V3. Will it work?  (Read 3642 times)

Offline mattyams

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Jun 2017
  • Location: Atlanta
  • Posts: 12
  • Kudos: 0
  • SUPER ADMIN!
9600 pixels and the F16V3. Will it work?
« on: June 01, 2017, 02:22:21 PM »
Hi all! I am doing non-Christmas related project for my company and was curious about how well the F16V3 will work for my needs. I am thinking of getting 32, 5VDC WS2812B 300 pixel strips that I want to place on a extreme ropes course at our locations to give it some pizzaz. From what I have read on here the F16V3 will do what I need but I want to make sure that I have everything that I need. Obviously I would need the F16V3 and power.  Will I need an expansion board?  What will I need to do for power?  From my understanding each pixel is 0.3w which means that 9600 pixels will be around 2880w and that has me concerned. Any help woul

Thanks!

Offline rstehle

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Aug 2015
  • Location: Colorado Springs
  • Posts: 253
  • Kudos: 1
Re: 9600 pixels and the F16V3. Will it work?
« Reply #1 on: June 01, 2017, 03:57:17 PM »
The F16V3 will run over 1000 pixels per output with power injection.  I think you have way over figured on your power requirements.  Check the watts per pixel again, I haven't seen any that were that power hungry.

Offline mattyams

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Jun 2017
  • Location: Atlanta
  • Posts: 12
  • Kudos: 0
  • SUPER ADMIN!
Re: 9600 pixels and the F16V3. Will it work?
« Reply #2 on: June 01, 2017, 04:35:48 PM »
I think that you might be right because that number really shocked me when I saw it as well.


Can you explain the power injection to me?  I know that the F16V3 has 2 power inputs that pass power to each channel (I think that is correct at least). Do I need like a 60A power supply two those two inputs and that is it or am I missing something else?

Offline lwillisjr

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Jan 2016
  • Location:
  • Posts: 91
  • Kudos: 1
Re: 9600 pixels and the F16V3. Will it work?
« Reply #3 on: June 01, 2017, 04:45:17 PM »
Actually i think you are pretty close. I couldn't find the exact specs on your WS2812B's, but I use WS2811's and they are .25 Watts each. You would need roughly 6 500W 5V power supplies.


You cannot apply all your power to the F16V3. There are several topics on the forum that deal with power injection so I won't go into detail here. Bottom line is that you must run individual power runs from your power supplies to the Power strips. You can serially feed the data line from one to the next. I inject power after every other LED strip, but I only have 150 LEDs per 16.4 ft LED ribbon.


The real test is the color when set to white. The power drops along the ribbon, and at the send of my 2nd ribbons the white is just starting to turn light pink due to the power drop down the ribbon itself. Which is why I inject power after every other ribbon cable. With 300 LEDs you will have to experiment. You might need to inject at the end of EVERY ribbon cable.

Offline neilric99

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Aug 2013
  • Location:
  • Posts: 197
  • Kudos: 1
Re: 9600 pixels and the F16V3. Will it work?
« Reply #4 on: June 01, 2017, 04:47:32 PM »
be careful about running too many strips from the f16V3 directly from a power perspective. I would not setup with that the power going through the F16  only connect data and ground. then Power inject the strip as needed. at 5V you will need to power inject every strip. How many Leds/Meter on the strip that you are using and long each strip? sounds like 60/Meter. at 5V that is going to need a lot of current.

 

Offline pixelpuppy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Aug 2015
  • Location: Dallas, TX
  • Posts: 1,430
  • Kudos: 45
Re: 9600 pixels and the F16V3. Will it work?
« Reply #5 on: June 01, 2017, 05:07:02 PM »
The F16 has two power inputs at 30a each for a maximum of 60a power distribution off the main board.   With 5v pixels, that's 300 Watts max that can be powered from the F16 directly. But that is just power.  As far as DATA goes, The F16V3 can supply data to over 16,000 pixels but you need to inject power mid-string as others have mentioned.
-Mark

Offline mattyams

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Jun 2017
  • Location: Atlanta
  • Posts: 12
  • Kudos: 0
  • SUPER ADMIN!
Re: 9600 pixels and the F16V3. Will it work?
« Reply #6 on: June 01, 2017, 05:48:18 PM »
Thank you guys for your help so far. I appreciate it.


I might have to get my hands on some 12v strips instead of the 5v. The ones I have are currently 60/meter which will look best for what I am doing.

Offline mattyams

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Jun 2017
  • Location: Atlanta
  • Posts: 12
  • Kudos: 0
  • SUPER ADMIN!
Re: 9600 pixels and the F16V3. Will it work?
« Reply #7 on: June 01, 2017, 06:08:04 PM »
So I am going to switch over to the 12VDC WS2811 and get 5 or 6 of the Mean Well SE-600-12 power supplies (http://www.mouser.com/ProductDetail/Mean-Well/SE-600-12/?qs=%252b6mEGs9UJHwj0bmY3T4KsQ%3D%3D) which should work better I assume. from there I will have to inject every other if I am getting this correctly.

Offline mattyams

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Jun 2017
  • Location: Atlanta
  • Posts: 12
  • Kudos: 0
  • SUPER ADMIN!
Re: 9600 pixels and the F16V3. Will it work?
« Reply #8 on: June 02, 2017, 01:23:22 PM »
Is it possible to just use the F16V3 to send the data out to the strips and then have the power coming out of the PSUs straight to the strips?

Offline rlemery

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Feb 2015
  • Location: Morganton,NC
  • Posts: 370
  • Kudos: 5
Re: 9600 pixels and the F16V3. Will it work?
« Reply #9 on: June 02, 2017, 02:07:34 PM »
You can have power at the pixels.  You need to come out of the board with data and ground then add the power at the pixels.

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk

728 lor channels
5492 pixels

Offline pixelpuppy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Aug 2015
  • Location: Dallas, TX
  • Posts: 1,430
  • Kudos: 45
Re: 9600 pixels and the F16V3. Will it work?
« Reply #10 on: June 02, 2017, 02:25:04 PM »
Is it possible to just use the F16V3 to send the data out to the strips and then have the power coming out of the PSUs straight to the strips?
Yes, but don't forget that Data needs ground and the controller itself needs power.  But you don't have to power the pixels from the controller.

Offline mattyams

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Jun 2017
  • Location: Atlanta
  • Posts: 12
  • Kudos: 0
  • SUPER ADMIN!
Re: 9600 pixels and the F16V3. Will it work?
« Reply #11 on: June 21, 2017, 10:10:59 PM »
I have the controller in and all my WS2811 strips in.  As I understand it these modules are 3 LEDs per "pixel" which is where I get confused on how to address them in xLights/channels. 

Offline JonB256

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Granbury, Texas
  • Posts: 5,303
  • Kudos: 127
    • Granbury Christmas Lights
Re: 9600 pixels and the F16V3. Will it work?
« Reply #12 on: June 22, 2017, 09:03:52 AM »
I have the controller in and all my WS2811 strips in.  As I understand it these modules are 3 LEDs per "pixel" which is where I get confused on how to address them in xLights/channels.

The confusion about 12v WS2811 strips is not new. I've used 12v TM1809 based strips many times. They will give you the single pixel per LED that most people want.

Or, just use 5v WS2811 strips. They are also single pixel per LED.

Offline jnealand

  • Developer
  • ******
  • Join Date: Aug 2013
  • Location: Kennesaw, GA
  • Posts: 2,948
  • Kudos: 68
Re: 9600 pixels and the F16V3. Will it work?
« Reply #13 on: June 22, 2017, 04:13:31 PM »
I have the controller in and all my WS2811 strips in.  As I understand it these modules are 3 LEDs per "pixel" which is where I get confused on how to address them in xLights/channels.

You count every 3 pysical pixels as one channel and in xlights you count every 3 pixels as one node since it asks for nodes per string.
Jim Nealand
Kennesaw, GA all Falcon controllers, all 12v Master Remote Multisync with Pi and BBB P10 and P5

Offline mattyams

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Jun 2017
  • Location: Atlanta
  • Posts: 12
  • Kudos: 0
  • SUPER ADMIN!
Re: 9600 pixels and the F16V3. Will it work?
« Reply #14 on: June 22, 2017, 09:55:18 PM »
Ok so I am having trouble getting xlights config and the F16V3 right. With my 16x 12V WS2811 I know that it should be treated as 100 "pixels" since there are 3 per IC.  I have attached my config screenshots.




 

Back to top