Author Topic: Adding Pixels to LOR Hardware and Sequencer  (Read 1395 times)

Offline Haus

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Jul 2017
  • Location:
  • Posts: 25
  • Kudos: 0
Adding Pixels to LOR Hardware and Sequencer
« on: August 23, 2017, 03:41:43 PM »
Hello All

I am brand new to pixels.  I purchased the F16v3 with the differential expansion board along with 2 differential recievers this year with 24 Smart RGB strips.
Last year I ran 5 LOR controllers and this year I want to combined them.

First question I have is from hardware stand point, how do these need to be setup. I was told at the Nashville show that I could just add the F16V3 as a part of the
ethernet daisy chain like I would a new LOR controller.  I think now that this is not so.

Second question would be what sequence editor (LOR,Xlights etc..) would be the best for combining both the LOR sequence and creating a new pixel sequence.

I am in the Charlotte, NC area if anyone is local that can help.

Thanks in advance

Offline Emuney18

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Nov 2015
  • Location: Apex, NC
  • Posts: 551
  • Kudos: 7
Re: Adding Pixels to LOR Hardware and Sequencer
« Reply #1 on: August 23, 2017, 07:18:51 PM »
My understanding is the same as yours that you can't just daisy chain them.  That being said you can have the Falcon be first and have it output DMX to your LOR controllers that can then be daisy chained.  If you want to stay with the LOR protocol you can always run them as LOR and use a network switch.

Do you plan to use FPP and a Pi to run your show?    I was never an expert with LOR so I went straight to xlights.  The recent xlights updates have made AC sequencing much better and if you go to the main xlights.org I think there is a video. The other option is to use LOR and xlights.  And then use xlights to convert the LOR sequence for FPP. 

I'm in Apex,NC.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Offline Dennis Laff

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Mar 2016
  • Location: Burbank Il United tates
  • Posts: 86
  • Kudos: 2
  • Retired Machinist
Re: Adding Pixels to LOR Hardware and Sequencer
« Reply #2 on: August 23, 2017, 08:04:11 PM »
if you have sequences you ran last year in lor with lor controllers (16 channel AC )  you can simply add the Falcon controller as a new network, in network preferences and continue to program all in lor if you want.

 

Back to top