Author Topic: pixel display picap  (Read 1318 times)

Offline hellr94

• Kudos: 0
pixel display picap
« on: August 27, 2017, 08:15:03 AM »
I am new to this stuff. I have my picap set up and up and running but I cannot figure how how to make a show. Id like to display images and scroll messages. What do I need to do to accomplish this?

Offline AAH

• Kudos: 19
  • Blinky blinky blinky
    • I love blinky lights
Re: pixel display picap
« Reply #1 on: August 27, 2017, 04:09:04 PM »
To display images and text you'll need to build up a pixel matrix or else a fairly high density pixel tree. The other option is to go with P10 panels off a BBB and octoscrolla/octoscroller or a Pi and rpi-P10 or 1 of the other P10 boards for the Pi.

Offline hellr94

« Reply #2 on: August 28, 2017, 07:48:55 AM »
maybe i made this a bit confusing to understand. I have a 500 light or so pixel display build and a pi with a pi cap installed on it. what I am not understanding how to do is make images and messages scroll how do add it to falcon player I believe im running on the pi?

Offline JonB256

• Supporting Member
  • Kudos: 127
    • Granbury Christmas Lights
« Reply #3 on: August 28, 2017, 09:59:25 AM »
I make images and messages move using xLights software. It creates a binary file (fseq extension) that FPP can easily output

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk

Offline algerdes

• Supporting Member
  • Kudos: 13
« Reply #4 on: August 28, 2017, 10:36:50 PM »
maybe i made this a bit confusing to understand. I have a 500 light or so pixel display build and a pi with a pi cap installed on it. what I am not understanding how to do is make images and messages scroll how do add it to falcon player I believe im running on the pi?