Author Topic: All Pixels On While PiCap Boots Up?  (Read 1281 times)

Offline mgd377

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: May 2017
  • Location:
  • Posts: 15
  • Kudos: 0
All Pixels On While PiCap Boots Up?
« on: September 13, 2017, 04:02:24 PM »
Any ideas why all pixels turn on between the time I flip the switch to turn on my power strip and the FPP service starts?  Once the FPP service starts (roughly 45 seconds after I flip the switch on the power strip) everything runs great.  Here's a high level overview of my wiring setup: 


1.)  One power strip
2.)  12 volt power supply plugged into the power strip (item number 1)
3.)  5 volt power supply for Raspberry Pi plugged into the power strip (item number 1)
4.)  16 gauge wire running from the 12 volt power supply (item number 2) to the Raspberry PiCap power input


I must have something wired incorrectly, but I'm not sure what.


Thanks for any help in advance.
« Last Edit: September 13, 2017, 07:05:03 PM by mgd377 »

Offline AAH

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Location: Australia
  • Posts: 740
  • Kudos: 19
  • Blinky blinky blinky
    • I love blinky lights
Re: All Pixels On While PiCap Boots Up?
« Reply #1 on: September 13, 2017, 04:19:57 PM »
There's some micro text in above post. Below is what it says.


Any ideas why all pixels turn on between the time I flip the switch to turn on my power strip and the FPP service starts?  Once the FPP service starts (roughly 45 seconds after I flip the switch on the power strip) everything runs great.

Offline JonB256

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Granbury, Texas
  • Posts: 5,303
  • Kudos: 127
    • Granbury Christmas Lights
Re: All Pixels On While PiCap Boots Up?
« Reply #2 on: September 13, 2017, 09:08:15 PM »
I think you have noise on the data line until the Pi boots and controls the output. Check that the IC chips are fully seated with no bent pins.

The small decoupling capacitor may be bad or have bad soldering.

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk


Offline mgd377

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: May 2017
  • Location:
  • Posts: 15
  • Kudos: 0
Re: All Pixels On While PiCap Boots Up?
« Reply #3 on: September 15, 2017, 11:37:20 AM »
Thanks for the ideas Jon. 


How and where do I check the "small decoupling capacitor that you mention may be bad or have bad soldering"?


My display consists of about 125 feet of LED strip.  How do you recommend I check the IC chips?  Also, if an IC is bad and it was a data issue, wouldn't there appear to be a break in the line where it didn't light up at that IC?  That's not the case.  Everything lights up fine.





Offline JonB256

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Granbury, Texas
  • Posts: 5,303
  • Kudos: 127
    • Granbury Christmas Lights
Re: All Pixels On While PiCap Boots Up?
« Reply #4 on: September 16, 2017, 06:47:40 AM »
Troubleshooting techniques (in my order of trying)

Pull the 14 pin chip (DRVR) out carefully and check for bent pins. Replace, making sure it is fully seated.
If you have another PiCap, swap DRVR chips and see if the problem moves.

The decoupling cap is the one marked C2. Look for obvious damage to its outer ceramic.

Remove the PiCap and inspect the underside of the board. Check the solder pads for the DRVR chip socket (14 pins)
Check the solder for C2. 

As far as the "break in the line" idea, if I understand what you mean, the data line doesn't work that way.

Offline patdelaney

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jun 2014
  • Location: Madison, WI
  • Posts: 1,113
  • Kudos: 9
Re: All Pixels On While PiCap Boots Up?
« Reply #5 on: September 16, 2017, 03:10:15 PM »
I'm not home to check, but I will when I get there, but this sounds familiar.. I'll test on my system.


Pat

Offline PeteyHall

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Sep 2016
  • Location: Boston
  • Posts: 230
  • Kudos: 3
All Pixels On While PiCap Boots Up?
« Reply #6 on: September 16, 2017, 03:43:58 PM »
I have the same thing, but only on my ribbons. My bullets don't power up as part of the boot process.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Offline jnealand

  • Developer
  • ******
  • Join Date: Aug 2013
  • Location: Kennesaw, GA
  • Posts: 2,947
  • Kudos: 68
Re: All Pixels On While PiCap Boots Up?
« Reply #7 on: September 16, 2017, 08:09:26 PM »
I was testing 600 ws2811 bullets in a window matrix on a single Picap output today and nothing lights up until I tell them to light up.
Jim Nealand
Kennesaw, GA all Falcon controllers, all 12v Master Remote Multisync with Pi and BBB P10 and P5

Offline mgd377

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: May 2017
  • Location:
  • Posts: 15
  • Kudos: 0
Re: All Pixels On While PiCap Boots Up?
« Reply #8 on: September 18, 2017, 08:20:25 AM »
To be clear for my problem, all of my pixels are ribbon just like 'PeteyHall'.  I tried switching to the other PiCap output to see if that changed anything.  Using the other output did not resolve my problem.

Offline patdelaney

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jun 2014
  • Location: Madison, WI
  • Posts: 1,113
  • Kudos: 9
Re: All Pixels On While PiCap Boots Up?
« Reply #9 on: September 24, 2017, 04:54:49 AM »
I forgot to post my test, and I do not see the issue that is reported with direct connects pixels.


Pat

 

Back to top