Author Topic: CG-1500 non standard holes  (Read 1810 times)

Offline daKEEBLERelf

• Kudos: 0
CG-1500 non standard holes
« on: August 16, 2017, 06:43:21 PM »

Hi all,

This is my first year building something like this and, of course, I've been overwhelming myself with all of the information out there. I'm trying to start simple-ish, 1 Mega tree. I've gotten my components and have started the build process. One thing that I am hung up on is mounting the hardware in a CG-1500 case. I'm planning to put my Pi, f16v3 (i know, overkill), and power supply in the case. I've worked out how it can all fit, but the wiring is where I'm hung up. Obviously the standard cable holes in the case can't be used as the boards get in the way. I came across a post once where the person stated they used the CG-1500 but always drilled their own holes to route the cables through. For the life of me I can't find the post again.

Can anyone point me in the right direction on how to accomplish this? I assume that there is more to it than just drilling the holes. What do you use to keep the case water-proof?

Thanks in advance!

Offline Dennis Laff

• Kudos: 2
  • Retired Machinist
Re: CG-1500 non standard holes
« Reply #1 on: August 16, 2017, 11:30:19 PM »
Look online for Cord Grips    there plastic or nylon buy the size you need for your cable

Offline jhoybs

• Kudos: 5
« Reply #2 on: August 17, 2017, 12:53:29 PM »
Actually, others may not agree with me, but I don't seal the bottoms of my CG1500 enclosures.  I did use a bunch of RJ45 panel mount bushings (which are waterproof), but I ran my 18 gauge cables right through the provided holes.  As long as the (unsealed) bottom is pointing down and water/snow won't rise up to the bottom, I think you're good.  That being said, you don't want to have large holes that water can splash into, but it doesn't need to be air-sealed.
Jim H - Muskego, WI
Falcon F16v3, PiCap, FPPs. Lynx Expresses, xLights

Offline Ebuechner

• Kudos: 10