Author Topic: New Light Setup help  (Read 1268 times)

Offline lil-hwe

• Kudos: 0
New Light Setup help
« on: September 07, 2017, 05:50:36 PM »
Hi all,
Complete NOOB here and I'm completely lost! I thought I had it all figured out, but now I'm 2nd guessing myself. OK so I have a F16V3 and I have RGB WS2811 60/m strips. I'm planning a permanent mount solution under my eaves outside the house. What I'm not understanding is the whole channels/universes/nodes thing. If I have a strip with 150 LEDs on it, is that the number of nodes? So do I take that times 3 to get the number of channels and the whole thing is 1 universe? So I'd have a single universe with 450 channels and 150 nodes? Or is it completely backwards from that? Since there are IC chips for every 3 LEDs then is that 1 node and 3 channels? Holy crap I'm confusing myself even more by typing this..

Anyway, I'm sure there's an answer in here somewhere, but I'm not finding it.
Thank you in advance for any help!!

Offline lwillisjr

• Kudos: 1
Re: New Light Setup help
« Reply #1 on: September 07, 2017, 07:10:14 PM »
Count the IC's as nodes. The fact you have 3 LED's per IC is not relevant. Each group of 3 with an IC is 1 node (or pixel). Each LED actually houses 3 LEDs internally (1 red, 1 blue, 1 green) and you need 1 channel for each to control them.

So when you say you have 150 on a strip, I don't know if you are counting all LEDs or the IC's. If 150 IC's, then yes each IC requires 3 channels of information.

Offline lil-hwe

• Kudos: 0
« Reply #2 on: September 07, 2017, 08:35:45 PM »
OK so if I understand you correctly, a strip with 150 physical LEDs counted on it and in my case 50 chips (1 for every 3 LEDs) that would mean I have 50 nodes with 3 channels each making that strip 150 channels.