Author Topic: Traditional lights and controller noob  (Read 1644 times)

Offline pjohnsontsm

• Kudos: 0
Traditional lights and controller noob
« on: November 13, 2017, 08:57:53 PM »
Hello All,

So i am a noob and learning as much as i can and i have decided i will be going with the F16v3 and obviously i cannot change every singles light i have to RGB just yet due to cost and trying to figure out how do i control traditional LED lights with and F16V3?

Offline jhoybs

• Kudos: 5
Re: Traditional lights and controller noob
« Reply #1 on: November 14, 2017, 04:47:02 AM »
The F16v3 is a smart RGB pixel controller - it doesn't directly control traditional AC lights.  I started out a few years ago using Lynx Express (LE) AC controllers - the F16v3 can convert sequences (like xLights & Vixen) to DMX to drive my LEs.  If you don't have any pixels, there is really no need for a controller like the F16v3.
Jim H - Muskego, WI
Falcon F16v3, PiCap, FPPs. Lynx Expresses, xLights

Offline Ruppro

« Reply #2 on: November 15, 2017, 08:30:35 PM »
You need to look at the Renard controllers, in particular the SS24 or TR24, these will give you 24 channels of on/off dimming for your AC lights. Looks in the Buy/Sell/Trade for used equipment.

If you are dead set on getting a Falcon, you can run the Renard controllers off the Falcon

Sent from my SM-J320V using Tapatalk

Offline drkeeley

« Reply #3 on: February 17, 2018, 10:43:38 PM »
Please help another Noob here I have a F16v3 and want to control some of my AC lights I have as well. I keep seeing that a SS24 would be a good option but were can I get One???  thanks

Offline jnealand

• Developer
  • Kudos: 68
« Reply #4 on: February 18, 2018, 11:41:54 AM »
Get a Lynx Express.  There were some for sale in the buy sell section.  It is a very good DMX 16 chan controller.
Jim Nealand
Kennesaw, GA all Falcon controllers, all 12v Master Remote Multisync with Pi and BBB P10 and P5

Offline mmais68569