Author Topic: F4V2 with expansion - one port stuck on white  (Read 739 times)

Offline gymgeek

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2017
  • Location: Oooooooooooooklahoma
  • Posts: 3
  • Kudos: 0
F4V2 with expansion - one port stuck on white
« on: November 29, 2017, 05:00:24 PM »
Hello fellow blinky flashy addicts! I'm looking for some troubleshooting help as I've ran out of ideas.


I have a F4V2 with the differential expansion and 2 receiver boards. Today, output 8 developed a problem. It has 50 pixels connected to it. Pixel 2 - 50 are stuck on white all the time. If I power up the receiver with it disconnected from the F4V2, the pixels stay off. Once I plug in the F4V2, they come on. I've disconnected the F4V2 from the network and rebooted it. I've used another strand of pixels. Anything else I should try?

Offline JonB256

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Granbury, Texas
  • Posts: 4,886
  • Kudos: 109
    • Granbury Christmas Lights
Re: F4V2 with expansion - one port stuck on white
« Reply #1 on: November 29, 2017, 06:34:55 PM »
Replace pixels #1 and #2

Offline gymgeek

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2017
  • Location: Oooooooooooooklahoma
  • Posts: 3
  • Kudos: 0
Re: F4V2 with expansion - one port stuck on white
« Reply #2 on: November 29, 2017, 07:13:49 PM »
I swapped the pixels attached to ports 7 and 8 and the issue stayed with port 8 so it appears it's not the pixels.

Offline gymgeek

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2017
  • Location: Oooooooooooooklahoma
  • Posts: 3
  • Kudos: 0
Re: F4V2 with expansion - one port stuck on white
« Reply #3 on: November 30, 2017, 02:36:50 PM »
I did some more troubleshooting today. On the 2nd receiver board, I'm only using 1 output. So, I swapped board locations. At this point, the pixels were no longer stuck all white but wouldn't come on at all. This, along with the previous troubleshooting, made it seem pretty certain the expansion board is at fault. So, next, I tried swapping expansion board output ports. Originally, I had the full receiver board connected to 5-8 on the expansion and the receiver with 1 port in use connected to 9-12 on the expansion board. After swapping all my port mappings around, whatever string I plug into port 4 doesn't do anything.


I'm out of ideas, so I've ordered another expansion board and receiver board.

Offline abrianbaker

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Oct 2013
  • Location: DFW - Justin
  • Posts: 98
  • Kudos: 1
Re: F4V2 with expansion - one port stuck on white
« Reply #4 on: December 29, 2017, 01:44:41 PM »
I did some more troubleshooting today. On the 2nd receiver board, I'm only using 1 output. So, I swapped board locations. At this point, the pixels were no longer stuck all white but wouldn't come on at all. This, along with the previous troubleshooting, made it seem pretty certain the expansion board is at fault. So, next, I tried swapping expansion board output ports. Originally, I had the full receiver board connected to 5-8 on the expansion and the receiver with 1 port in use connected to 9-12 on the expansion board. After swapping all my port mappings around, whatever string I plug into port 4 doesn't do anything.


I'm out of ideas, so I've ordered another expansion board and receiver board.
Did you ever get a resolution to this?  I am having the exact issue.  I know it isn't the lights as that string works on another port.

On that particular board P1, P3, and P4 work as expected. P2 is stuck on full whit all the time.  When the show is running that string wrinkles random colors.

As a side note all as been working expected all of last season and all of this season up until last night. Same cables, same lights, same boards etc...

Any ideas?

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
« Last Edit: December 29, 2017, 01:52:37 PM by abrianbaker »

Offline abrianbaker

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Oct 2013
  • Location: DFW - Justin
  • Posts: 98
  • Kudos: 1
Re: F4V2 with expansion - one port stuck on white
« Reply #5 on: December 29, 2017, 07:54:15 PM »
Wanted to report that I figured out what went wrong.  One of the RJ-45 connectors broke in the Diff board and pulled the pins out.  No fault of the board... fault of the user.  Soldered in a new one and it works great!

 

Back to top