Author Topic: Who is still using an FPD ???  (Read 1282 times)

Offline JonB256

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Granbury, Texas
  • Posts: 4,947
  • Kudos: 111
    • Granbury Christmas Lights
Who is still using an FPD ???
« on: December 06, 2017, 07:53:28 AM »
Because I still have a Pixelnet controller (F16v1) operating, plus two universes of DMX, I still use my FPD.

While it was designed for the older RasPi with a 26 pin ribbon cable, it didn't take much "modification" to get the 26 pin ribbon onto the 40 pin output of a RasPi 3. The extra processing speed of the RasPi 3 is a big plus.

If it ever dies, I know I can get my Pixelnet and DMX from different sources, but it is SO convenient.

Offline twooly

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Oct 2013
  • Location:
  • Posts: 1,074
  • Kudos: 12
Re: Who is still using an FPD ???
« Reply #1 on: December 06, 2017, 08:07:26 AM »
I actually still use an Etherdongle for a good portion of channels in my show.

Offline jnealand

  • Developer
  • ******
  • Join Date: Aug 2013
  • Location: Kennesaw, GA
  • Posts: 2,750
  • Kudos: 57
Re: Who is still using an FPD ???
« Reply #2 on: December 06, 2017, 01:25:19 PM »
I am using a $3 USB2RS485 adapter that can be configured to output pixelnet on the FPP other tab.  Works great.
Jim Nealand
Kennesaw, GA all Falcon controllers, all 12v Master Remote Multisync with Pi and BBB P10 and P5

Offline Frankr

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Jul 2013
  • Location: Rocklin, CA
  • Posts: 267
  • Kudos: 0
    • Rocklin Lights
Re: Who is still using an FPD ???
« Reply #3 on: December 06, 2017, 02:07:36 PM »
In case you couldn't gather from my thread about LAG I also run a FPD in my setup. It runs nearly 3 full pixelnet universes and 3 DMX channels, Literally just a 3 channel Ray controller for my LED strobes...


Frank

Offline arw01

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2013
  • Location:
  • Posts: 891
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Who is still using an FPD ???
« Reply #4 on: December 06, 2017, 03:02:49 PM »
I dream of a Falcon like F16pixelnet that would let me have a web and port setup interface with all my pixelnet controllers driven off all set to channel 1.  They don't see any traffic but what the hub sends them and it lets me use all those around the yard and not waste the money tossing them.


Offline tbone321

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 1,541
  • Kudos: 46
Re: Who is still using an FPD ???
« Reply #5 on: August 03, 2018, 11:02:01 AM »
I am using a $3 USB2RS485 adapter that can be configured to output pixelnet on the FPP other tab.  Works great.


I know that this is an old thread but could you provide a link or give the model number of the adapter you are using.  I want to set up a controller for my Halloween display that will control lights and animatronics in a cemetery scene in an area that does not allow for an easy hard wire connection between it and the house.  It will consist of a PI 3B, a 8 relay controller board and an LE.  I want to put it all in the LE's CG1500 case and it should all fit but I need a small DMX interface between the PI and the LE and due to the tight fit. 

Offline jnealand

  • Developer
  • ******
  • Join Date: Aug 2013
  • Location: Kennesaw, GA
  • Posts: 2,750
  • Kudos: 57
Re: Who is still using an FPD ???
« Reply #6 on: August 03, 2018, 07:08:53 PM »
Just search for usb2rs485 on ebay and you should find several suppliers.  Here is one

https://www.ebay.com/itm/USB-to-RS485-TTL-Serial-Converter-Adapter-FTDI-interface-FT232RL-75176-Module/201414952804?epid=675364018&hash=item2ee5444764%3Ag%3AM4UAAOSwEeFVMmWO&_sacat=0&_nkw=usb2rs485&_from=R40&rt=nc&LH_TitleDesc=0

You can find them at US suppliers but then they are around $10 - 12.

Offline JonB256

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Granbury, Texas
  • Posts: 4,947
  • Kudos: 111
    • Granbury Christmas Lights
Re: Who is still using an FPD ???
« Reply #7 on: August 03, 2018, 09:06:30 PM »
If possible, get one that guarantees an actual FTDI chip. Some of the clones will trigger the Windows FTDI driver to brick them (if you plug it into a Windows pc)

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk


Offline tbone321

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 1,541
  • Kudos: 46
Re: Who is still using an FPD ???
« Reply #8 on: August 03, 2018, 09:17:36 PM »
If possible, get one that guarantees an actual FTDI chip. Some of the clones will trigger the Windows FTDI driver to brick them (if you plug it into a Windows pc)

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk


Yea, I remember when that was going on but I believe that they were forced to remove that driver version.  The Items were not actually bricked because you could still get into the chip and reverse what they did and use it with an older driver where a truly bricked chip is dead and not reversible.  I don't intend to use it on a PC but I will keep this in mind when looking and want to be sure that it will work with the PI.

Offline tbone321

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 1,541
  • Kudos: 46
Re: Who is still using an FPD ???
« Reply #9 on: August 03, 2018, 09:48:14 PM »
Just search for usb2rs485 on ebay and you should find several suppliers.  Here is one

https://www.ebay.com/itm/USB-to-RS485-TTL-Serial-Converter-Adapter-FTDI-interface-FT232RL-75176-Module/201414952804?epid=675364018&hash=item2ee5444764%3Ag%3AM4UAAOSwEeFVMmWO&_sacat=0&_nkw=usb2rs485&_from=R40&rt=nc&LH_TitleDesc=0

You can find them at US suppliers but then they are around $10 - 12.


Yea, I ordered one off of Amazon for under 8 bucks.  You can't beat the price from China but waiting for up to two months for shipping is a no go, especially if it either doesn't work or is defective.  I wouldn't have enough time to replace it and the return shipping would cost more than the device.

Offline mkozik1

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Jul 2013
  • Location: Monroe, GA
  • Posts: 95
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Who is still using an FPD ???
« Reply #10 on: October 17, 2018, 08:41:22 PM »
Which did you end up ordering and did you have any issues getting it to work properly?
- Mark

 

Back to top