Author Topic: PiCap powering 36 volt Floods  (Read 500 times)

Offline Tinkerman61

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2018
  • Location: Rockwall, TX
  • Posts: 8
  • Kudos: 0
PiCap powering 36 volt Floods
« on: March 17, 2019, 07:52:48 PM »
I am installing 36 volt, 30 watt 2811 floods from Ray and want to control them with a Pi with a PiCap. The distances from the Pi to the first flood is 10', 31' to the next flood, 13' to the next flood, 12' to the last flood for a total wire length of about 66 feet.
What type of outdoor wire is recommended for this installation?
Will I need to boost the signal or power along the run?
What type of power reducer is recommended to drop the 36 volts from the power supply to 12 volts to power the PiCap and Pi?
Thanks!
newbie
xLights, Falcon F48, Renard SS24's

Offline Bos Lights

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Sep 2017
  • Location: Kamloops, BC
  • Posts: 93
  • Kudos: 1
    • BosLights - Light Shows
Re: PiCap powering 36 volt Floods
« Reply #1 on: March 17, 2019, 10:22:14 PM »
You can use 18 gauge wire, run the ground and data wire from the pi cap but run a separate power wire from sn external power supply to your floods. You can use a u amp to strengthen your data run where needed, also make sure to tie the ground from your pi and external power supply together.

Offline Tinkerman61

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2018
  • Location: Rockwall, TX
  • Posts: 8
  • Kudos: 0
Re: PiCap powering 36 volt Floods
« Reply #2 on: March 18, 2019, 06:42:06 PM »
Thank you @Bos Lights.  What is a u amp and where can I purchase them?

Offline Bos Lights

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Sep 2017
  • Location: Kamloops, BC
  • Posts: 93
  • Kudos: 1
    • BosLights - Light Shows

Offline Tinkerman61

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2018
  • Location: Rockwall, TX
  • Posts: 8
  • Kudos: 0
Re: PiCap powering 36 volt Floods
« Reply #4 on: March 18, 2019, 08:07:39 PM »
Thanks!  I already checked with David Pitts and the F-Amps do not work with 36 volts.

Offline Bos Lights

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Sep 2017
  • Location: Kamloops, BC
  • Posts: 93
  • Kudos: 1
    • BosLights - Light Shows
Re: PiCap powering 36 volt Floods
« Reply #5 on: March 18, 2019, 08:42:08 PM »
You can try using null pixels to strengthen the data signal

Offline Tinkerman61

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2018
  • Location: Rockwall, TX
  • Posts: 8
  • Kudos: 0
Re: PiCap powering 36 volt Floods
« Reply #6 on: March 18, 2019, 08:55:37 PM »
Do they make Null pixels that are 36 volts?

Offline Bos Lights

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Sep 2017
  • Location: Kamloops, BC
  • Posts: 93
  • Kudos: 1
    • BosLights - Light Shows
Re: PiCap powering 36 volt Floods
« Reply #7 on: March 18, 2019, 09:57:53 PM »
Someone can correct me if I am wrong but you should also be able to power a f-amp or null pixel with a separate 12v power supply and only connect the data and ground run from your f- amp / null pixel with your 36v flood lights, that being said next time if you would buy 12v lights it will make your wiring a bit less complex.

Offline mararunr

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Dec 2013
  • Location:
  • Posts: 606
  • Kudos: 14
    • Bentonville Heart Lites
Re: PiCap powering 36 volt Floods
« Reply #8 on: March 19, 2019, 07:18:42 AM »
Someone can correct me if I am wrong but you should also be able to power a f-amp or null pixel with a separate 12v power supply and only connect the data and ground run from your f- amp / null pixel with your 36v flood lights, that being said next time if you would buy 12v lights it will make your wiring a bit less complex.

You are correct, however my suggestion would be to just use the 5v from the pi to power the cap AND the f-amp if you are going to directly inject 36v at the floods.  The f-amp can run on 5v or 12v (auto switched) and since the Pi needs 5v you might as well use 5v for all control.  As Bos said, you only need the data and ground lines coming out of the f-amp, you do not have to continue the voltage line.  (This is also true with a null pixel but you wont get near the distance from a null pixel so you would have to daisy-chain power across null pixels all the way to your last null pixel.  Also if you use null pixels, you have to set them up in FPP where as the F-amp does it's magic without you having to set up a null pixel in FPP).  Hope this helps, mv
Bentonville Heart Lites (www.facebook.com/bheartlites)
 This is just my opinion/suggestion/viewpoint.  Others with other viewpoints/experiences may have different advice.  I am a hobbyist with a couple years real world experience, not an expert.

Offline Bos Lights

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Sep 2017
  • Location: Kamloops, BC
  • Posts: 93
  • Kudos: 1
    • BosLights - Light Shows
Re: PiCap powering 36 volt Floods
« Reply #9 on: March 19, 2019, 07:54:15 AM »
Excellent feedback! I second MV.

Offline Tinkerman61

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2018
  • Location: Rockwall, TX
  • Posts: 8
  • Kudos: 0
Re: PiCap powering 36 volt Floods
« Reply #10 on: March 19, 2019, 12:07:25 PM »
Thank you MV!  Where does the 5v come from?


@Bos Lights - I need 30 watt floods and was not able to find any 2811 types at 12 volts.  If I could, this would be much easier.


My plan is to mount the 36v power supply in the same enclosure as the Pi and run the cable out from there to the floods.  I am looking at purchasing a 36v to 12v converter to power the Pi Cap.  I am also looking at 16ga 4 conductor wire to use to run to the floods.  My thinking is, if I need to use F-Amps to boost the signal, I can use the 4th wire for the 12v along the wire run and tie all the grounds together.  Does this sound like it will work?  Thanks!

Offline robbiet

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Nov 2017
  • Location:
  • Posts: 69
  • Kudos: 0
Re: PiCap powering 36 volt Floods
« Reply #11 on: March 19, 2019, 05:54:06 PM »
Ray Wu has 12V WS2811 floods. I use many around my display. They are pretty popular and used by a lot of folks.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Offline Tinkerman61

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2018
  • Location: Rockwall, TX
  • Posts: 8
  • Kudos: 0
Re: PiCap powering 36 volt Floods
« Reply #12 on: March 19, 2019, 07:23:22 PM »
True, however all the ones I found were 10 watt.  I am looking for 30 watt floods.

Offline robbiet

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Nov 2017
  • Location:
  • Posts: 69
  • Kudos: 0
Re: PiCap powering 36 volt Floods
« Reply #13 on: March 19, 2019, 08:41:38 PM »
Just use more!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

 

Back to top