Author Topic: F16V3 and wifi support?  (Read 5922 times)

Offline PeteyHall

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Sep 2016
  • Location: Boston
  • Posts: 225
  • Kudos: 3
Re: F16V3 and wifi support?
« Reply #30 on: October 13, 2018, 04:15:47 AM »
I had also been testing this. My usd card carrier failed just as the last update came out. I will get it back tomorrow. But be aware they are only supporting up to FPP ver 1.10 at this time. It was running good for me.

You mean only supporting FPP1.10 on the master at this time?

Offline aknflyer

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Dec 2016
  • Location: Anchorage, AK
  • Posts: 154
  • Kudos: 4
Re: F16V3 and wifi support?
« Reply #31 on: October 13, 2018, 11:58:49 AM »
I had also been testing this. My usd card carrier failed just as the last update came out. I will get it back tomorrow. But be aware they are only supporting up to FPP ver 1.10 at this time. It was running good for me.

You mean only supporting FPP1.10 on the master at this time?
Yes, David said he was only supporting the wireless function on the F16v3 when used with a master running FPP 1.10 at this time. Will it work with v2.x? I do not know.

Online JonB256

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Granbury, Texas
  • Posts: 4,882
  • Kudos: 109
    • Granbury Christmas Lights
Re: F16V3 and wifi support?
« Reply #32 on: October 13, 2018, 06:24:54 PM »
I had also been testing this. My usd card carrier failed just as the last update came out. I will get it back tomorrow. But be aware they are only supporting up to FPP ver 1.10 at this time. It was running good for me.

You mean only supporting FPP1.10 on the master at this time?
Yes, David said he was only supporting the wireless function on the F16v3 when used with a master running FPP 1.10 at this time. Will it work with v2.x? I do not know.

I have a Master Pi running v2.x-Master. I have the wireless IP address of the F16v3 in the "CSV" blank and its been working perfectly for two weeks.
I haven't tried it with v2.1-1 (yet)

The F16v3 is running the Beta18 firmware, not the firmware shipped on current hardware.
« Last Edit: October 13, 2018, 07:30:04 PM by JonB256 »

Offline Argento

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2017
  • Location:
  • Posts: 8
  • Kudos: 0
Re: F16V3 and wifi support?
« Reply #33 on: October 14, 2018, 05:39:27 PM »
I am trying to use the beta firmware but can't get past the bootload upgrade. I loaded the updater on my microSD card, loaded that into the controller, powered up but never see an install process occur, it just boots to the status screen on the controller's display. Is there an intermediate step I am missing?

Offline David Pitts

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Falcon, CO
  • Posts: 3,910
  • Kudos: 75
Re: F16V3 and wifi support?
« Reply #34 on: October 14, 2018, 06:06:35 PM »
When you download the files make sure you click on file then click download. Do not right click on file and click "Save As"
PixelController, LLC
PixelController.com

Offline Argento

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2017
  • Location:
  • Posts: 8
  • Kudos: 0
Re: F16V3 and wifi support?
« Reply #35 on: October 14, 2018, 08:58:09 PM »
That did the trick!  Thanks!


Now running in standalone mode without a hitch. My Halloween setup isnt terribly complex so theres not much to report other than its stable.

Offline Jojoed

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Mar 2018
  • Location:
  • Posts: 118
  • Kudos: 0
F16V3 and wifi support?
« Reply #36 on: October 16, 2018, 10:43:30 AM »
I installed and tested and didnt get 2.1 fpp to work with it
But I was able to upload wirelessly to it so idk I guess its a wait and see if theres a fix for it


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Online JonB256

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Granbury, Texas
  • Posts: 4,882
  • Kudos: 109
    • Granbury Christmas Lights
Re: F16V3 and wifi support?
« Reply #37 on: October 16, 2018, 01:00:30 PM »
... didnt get 2.1 fpp to work with it


Can you be more specific?  What mode were you in? What did you send? How is it configured?

Offline Jojoed

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Mar 2018
  • Location:
  • Posts: 118
  • Kudos: 0
Re: F16V3 and wifi support?
« Reply #38 on: October 16, 2018, 01:30:37 PM »
I was in run mode, I sent several sequences to my pi  was also able to start and run fpp but nothing was displayed
I was running the same setup as I used on previous version on my f16v3


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Offline aknflyer

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Dec 2016
  • Location: Anchorage, AK
  • Posts: 154
  • Kudos: 4
Re: F16V3 and wifi support?
« Reply #39 on: October 17, 2018, 11:48:43 PM »
You need the fseq files and the music files (converted to 48kb wave files) on the top level of the usd card. Just copy from pc. David mentioned you would'nt be able to do that wireless. Then set your schedule, playlist.

Online JonB256

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Granbury, Texas
  • Posts: 4,882
  • Kudos: 109
    • Granbury Christmas Lights
Re: F16V3 and wifi support?
« Reply #40 on: October 18, 2018, 04:52:07 AM »
I was in run mode

With the beta 018 firmware, there are five Controller Modes, none of them "Run" so I'm curious what you mean.

E131/Artnet Mode
Standalone
Remote
Master
ZCPP

Offline hotrod1965

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2015
  • Location:
  • Posts: 21
  • Kudos: 0
Re: F16V3 and wifi support?
« Reply #41 on: October 20, 2018, 01:45:34 PM »
Anything after b011 doesnt work. Test mode does nothing. The controller randomly reboots. Dont see sequences loaded on the card.
But b011 seems ok for basic operation.

Online JonB256

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Granbury, Texas
  • Posts: 4,882
  • Kudos: 109
    • Granbury Christmas Lights
Re: F16V3 and wifi support?
« Reply #42 on: October 20, 2018, 02:45:56 PM »
Anything after b011 doesnt work. Test mode does nothing. The controller randomly reboots. Dont see sequences loaded on the card.
But b011 seems ok for basic operation.

Try loading b018 again. It was MUCH more reliable than b011. Maybe reinstall the new Bootloader. Your experience is not common.
sequences go in the root of a Fat32 formatted (32gb or less) uSD card.

Offline hotrod1965

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2015
  • Location:
  • Posts: 21
  • Kudos: 0
Re: F16V3 and wifi support?
« Reply #43 on: October 20, 2018, 05:46:20 PM »
Anything after b011 doesnt work. Test mode does nothing. The controller randomly reboots. Dont see sequences loaded on the card.
But b011 seems ok for basic operation.

Try loading b018 again. It was MUCH more reliable than b011. Maybe reinstall the new Bootloader. Your experience is not common.
sequences go in the root of a Fat32 formatted (32gb or less) uSD card.

So what was happening was the subnet was being set to 0.0.0.0 on anything after b011. Once I set that back to 255.255.255.0 everyrhing was fine. Odd that it defaulted correctly on b011 but not the others. But it seems to be working fine now

Offline David Pitts

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Falcon, CO
  • Posts: 3,910
  • Kudos: 75
Re: F16V3 and wifi support?
« Reply #44 on: October 21, 2018, 03:41:17 AM »
We had a settings change from b011 to b012 as far as flash location.

 

Back to top