Author Topic: cat5 cable?  (Read 2465 times)

Offline Dodgerblu

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Jan 2018
  • Location:
  • Posts: 13
  • Kudos: 0
cat5 cable?
« on: January 20, 2018, 06:22:43 PM »
anybody order bulk 1000ft cat5 from Monoprice, there is so many which one is the preferred for the differential receiver boards.

Offline jnealand

  • Developer
  • ******
  • Join Date: Aug 2013
  • Location: Kennesaw, GA
  • Posts: 2,947
  • Kudos: 68
Re: cat5 cable?
« Reply #1 on: January 20, 2018, 06:29:30 PM »
Pick your color.  I used the green stranded,  Bought several years ago and still have some left in the box.
Jim Nealand
Kennesaw, GA all Falcon controllers, all 12v Master Remote Multisync with Pi and BBB P10 and P5

Offline Todd

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Jan 2017
  • Location: Kimberly, Wisconsin
  • Posts: 306
  • Kudos: 6
Re: cat5 cable?
« Reply #2 on: January 20, 2018, 08:28:02 PM »
I use gray stranded. Bought a 1000' box, a big bag of RJ45 connectors, the crimp tool, a cheap line tester and make what I need.
Todd L.
Kimberly, WI

Falcon F16V3 F48, FPP, X-Lights, LOR, Pi 3B

Offline Emuney18

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Nov 2015
  • Location: Apex, NC
  • Posts: 593
  • Kudos: 7
Re: cat5 cable?
« Reply #3 on: January 20, 2018, 09:04:13 PM »

Offline Lightsonthelake

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Dec 2017
  • Location: Shepherdsville kentucky
  • Posts: 32
  • Kudos: 0
Re: cat5 cable?
« Reply #4 on: January 21, 2018, 07:27:41 PM »
If your planning on using it outside get the indoor/outdoor. I get mine from work for free. I've got 2 boxes for my next project. I used half a box wiring my house when it was being built. Used cat5e, works better over long runs. Cat 6 is even better but cost more. I'd also suggest a good quality crimper cheap tester will work fine. Ends are up to you. if you aren't good with little wires or eyes aren't perfect I'd use the ends where you can push the wires out the end and trim after crimping. Don't forget some strain reliefs too, they help from damaging.

Offline Lightsonthelake

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Dec 2017
  • Location: Shepherdsville kentucky
  • Posts: 32
  • Kudos: 0
Re: cat5 cable?
« Reply #5 on: January 21, 2018, 07:29:51 PM »
It's also worth asking a service tech if you see one at a gas station or in the neighborhood for a used box. Might not be full but it's free.

Offline Emuney18

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Nov 2015
  • Location: Apex, NC
  • Posts: 593
  • Kudos: 7
Re: cat5 cable?
« Reply #6 on: January 22, 2018, 05:36:06 AM »
It's also worth asking a service tech if you see one at a gas station or in the neighborhood for a used box. Might not be full but it's free.
I like this suggestion. They are about to start building some more houses in my neighborhood so I will go ask.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Offline mklabunde

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2016
  • Location:
  • Posts: 25
  • Kudos: 0
Re: cat5 cable?
« Reply #7 on: January 31, 2018, 03:08:08 PM »
I use two colors purple for the receivers and network then I label them using a dymo label and heat shrink around the label (clear heat shrink and yes you can get it) and red if there is power along with the dmx lines (powered flood lights and so fourth) use the other 6 wires for power and ground.  I also use stranded solid wire is for in the walls of your house, also better when you roll it up for the end of the season.

Offline rstehle

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Aug 2015
  • Location: Colorado Springs
  • Posts: 253
  • Kudos: 1
Re: cat5 cable?
« Reply #8 on: January 31, 2018, 03:31:17 PM »
I use two colors purple for the receivers and network then I label them using a dymo label and heat shrink around the label (clear heat shrink and yes you can get it) and red if there is power along with the dmx lines (powered flood lights and so fourth) use the other 6 wires for power and ground. I also use stranded solid wire is for in the walls of your house, also better when you roll it up for the end of the season.

Did you mean Stranded 100% Copper Wire?  That is what I use for my Pixel Cables.

Offline Dodgerblu

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Jan 2018
  • Location:
  • Posts: 13
  • Kudos: 0
Re: cat5 cable?
« Reply #9 on: January 31, 2018, 05:31:26 PM »
I ordered
1000' black cat5https://www.monoprice.com/product?c_id=102&cp_id=10233&cs_id=1023304&p_id=886&seq=1&format=2

Tester https://www.monoprice.com/product?c_id=105&cp_id=10524&cs_id=1052401&p_id=8138&seq=1&format=2

Crimpper and bag of rj45 connectors,

Ordered my f48 and 12 recievers on the 29th. 1st year,going all in.

Offline rstehle

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Aug 2015
  • Location: Colorado Springs
  • Posts: 253
  • Kudos: 1
Re: cat5 cable?
« Reply #10 on: January 31, 2018, 05:46:23 PM »
You should be set!

Offline k6ccc

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2015
  • Location: Glendora, Calif, U.S.A. (near Los Angeles)
  • Posts: 524
  • Kudos: 6
    • Newburgh Lights
Re: cat5 cable?
« Reply #11 on: January 31, 2018, 08:37:29 PM »
I support the concept of using different color cables for different networks.  I stock four colors of Cat-5E and one color of Cat-6.  Get it all from Monoprice.com  Very happy with them.
Using LOR (mostly SuperStar) for all sequencing - using FPP only to drive P5 and P10 panels.
Jim

Offline patdelaney

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jun 2014
  • Location: Madison, WI
  • Posts: 1,113
  • Kudos: 9
Re: cat5 cable?
« Reply #12 on: February 03, 2018, 07:39:30 AM »
If your planning on using it outside get the indoor/outdoor. I get mine from work for free. I've got 2 boxes for my next project. I used half a box wiring my house when it was being built. Used cat5e, works better over long runs. Cat 6 is even better but cost more. I'd also suggest a good quality crimper cheap tester will work fine. Ends are up to you. if you aren't good with little wires or eyes aren't perfect I'd use the ends where you can push the wires out the end and trim after crimping. Don't forget some strain reliefs too, they help from damaging.



Curious if you can post a link to the connector you referred to for bad eyes :-)

Offline larryk5

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Location: Punta Gorda, FL
  • Posts: 50
  • Kudos: 0
Re: cat5 cable?
« Reply #13 on: February 05, 2018, 05:54:47 AM »
Opinions! I have also ordered the new F48 board and I'm building the receiver boxes now. I've always uses stranded cable, always had a box around to make custom cables. Now with the F48 I see a lot more cable being needed. I noticed that solid is much less expensive than stranded and was wondering is there a performance difference between the 2, especially at distances of 50 plus feet! I know it's not as flexible, but anything else?


Offline k6ccc

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2015
  • Location: Glendora, Calif, U.S.A. (near Los Angeles)
  • Posts: 524
  • Kudos: 6
    • Newburgh Lights
Re: cat5 cable?
« Reply #14 on: February 05, 2018, 07:06:45 AM »
Very little reason to spend the extra money for stranded.  No performance difference.



Sent from a $&@#% iPhone using Tapatalk

 

Back to top