Author Topic: Adding a fan in a controller box with F16v2  (Read 670 times)

Offline Chris A

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Oct 2015
  • Location:
  • Posts: 87
  • Kudos: 0
Adding a fan in a controller box with F16v2
« on: March 08, 2018, 12:43:11 PM »
I know I can hook a fan directly to the f16v3, but for a fi6v2 do I simply directly wire the fan to the power supply and let it run when the power supply is on? Can I wire the 12v fan directly to a power supply?

Offline pixelpuppy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Aug 2015
  • Location: Dallas, TX
  • Posts: 1,167
  • Kudos: 34
Re: Adding a fan in a controller box with F16v2
« Reply #1 on: March 08, 2018, 01:32:57 PM »
The V3 needs a PWM fan in order to turn it on and off based on a temp setting.
With either the V2 or the V3 your could run a cheaper DC fan directly off the power supply but it will always be on unless you add something like this inexpensive thermal switch.  This is what I have in my enclosures with my V2 controllers.

These are not set-able but you can get them for different temps to suit your needs

https://www.ebay.com/itm/KSD9700-Temperature-Switch-Thermostat-Thermal-Protector-Normally-Closed-Open/292110026379?var=591072371212&_trkparms=aid%3D222007%26algo%3DSIM.MBE%26ao%3D2%26asc%3D50073%26meid%3Db74138cd46ec48768b701a4f3a45f76b%26pid%3D100005%26rk%3D5%26rkt%3D6%26sd%3D272948130057%26itm%3D591072371212&_trksid=p2047675.c100005.m1851
xLights and Vixen3 for sequencing / FPP for scheduling and playing / Falcon controllers for pixels / homemade controllers for everything else

Offline Chris A

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Oct 2015
  • Location:
  • Posts: 87
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Adding a fan in a controller box with F16v2
« Reply #2 on: March 08, 2018, 01:52:56 PM »
The V3 needs a PWM fan in order to turn it on and off based on a temp setting.
With either the V2 or the V3 your could run a cheaper DC fan directly off the power supply but it will always be on unless you add something like this inexpensive thermal switch.  This is what I have in my enclosures with my V2 controllers.

These are not set-able but you can get them for different temps to suit your needs

https://www.ebay.com/itm/KSD9700-Temperature-Switch-Thermostat-Thermal-Protector-Normally-Closed-Open/292110026379?var=591072371212&_trkparms=aid%3D222007%26algo%3DSIM.MBE%26ao%3D2%26asc%3D50073%26meid%3Db74138cd46ec48768b701a4f3a45f76b%26pid%3D100005%26rk%3D5%26rkt%3D6%26sd%3D272948130057%26itm%3D591072371212&_trksid=p2047675.c100005.m1851


That's great. Do you have a link to your build, I thought I saw it before. I'm not familiar with how to hook these up in relationship to the power supply and fan. Thanks.

Offline pixelpuppy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Aug 2015
  • Location: Dallas, TX
  • Posts: 1,167
  • Kudos: 34
Re: Adding a fan in a controller box with F16v2
« Reply #3 on: March 08, 2018, 02:40:20 PM »
That's great. Do you have a link to your build, I thought I saw it before. I'm not familiar with how to hook these up in relationship to the power supply and fan. Thanks.

My stuff is stashed away until Sep-Oct.  So its hard to get pictures for you.  But the hook up is very easy.  Just wire it in series with the V+ like any other small switch or fuse.

Cheap DC chassis fan will have only 2 wires, + and -
This switch has only two wires with no polarity.
Wire - on fan to - on Power supply
Wire + on fan to one wire on this thermal switch.
Wire other wire on thermal switch to + on power supply.
Done.

Offline rstehle

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Aug 2015
  • Location: Colorado Springs
  • Posts: 228
  • Kudos: 0

Offline Chris A

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Oct 2015
  • Location:
  • Posts: 87
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Adding a fan in a controller box with F16v2
« Reply #5 on: March 08, 2018, 02:57:24 PM »
Or you can use one of these which allows you to set the temp that you want the fan to come on.

https://www.ebay.com/itm/W1209-12V-50-110-C-Digital-Thermostat-Temperature-Control-Switch-Sensor-Module/112704697471?epid=7011753063&hash=item1a3db9347f:m:mxhxoGkuarbwWpCcBM2bHqw


At a $1.19 what do I have to lose. Thanks. Suggested temp setting?

Offline Chris A

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Oct 2015
  • Location:
  • Posts: 87
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Adding a fan in a controller box with F16v2
« Reply #6 on: March 08, 2018, 03:01:28 PM »

Offline rstehle

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Aug 2015
  • Location: Colorado Springs
  • Posts: 228
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Adding a fan in a controller box with F16v2
« Reply #7 on: March 08, 2018, 04:29:19 PM »
There are quite a few vendors selling them on eBay, just do a search.  I set mine to around 35 degrees C.  They read in centigrade.

 

Back to top