Author Topic: F4V3 Board how do I connect it  (Read 1334 times)

Offline kryptic

• Kudos: 1
F4V3 Board how do I connect it
« on: May 04, 2018, 05:42:47 PM »
Hi everyone I just received my new F4V3 board and, im not sure what to do with it. How do I connect it to FPP does it not require a Micro Sd card like my falcon Pi Cap I havent found any videos on how to connect everything on the board to the FPP and utilize Xlights for sequencing, I am a newb still this will be my first year having pixels on the house outline and I also want to connect some arches and maybe a snowman only time will tell. The video for the F16 boards talk about connecting it using a rasberry Pi and I dont know if thats used through the ethernet on my F4V3 board using the cat5 to the Rasberry Pi or how, if I use the cat5  for that then there would be no network for either my Pi or the F4V3. Anyone have one of these and have it connected please share the process.

Thanks in advance for all the help thus far.

Offline algerdes

• Supporting Member
  • Kudos: 13
Re: F4V3 Board how do I connect it
« Reply #1 on: May 04, 2018, 07:43:14 PM »
Have you looked at the manual? (Go to Pixelcontroller.com and select the F4V3 from the controllers available.  The manual is listed at the bottom of the writeup.)

Basically:
1.  Your incoming E1.31 goes into one of the two silver RJ45s (marked Eth0 and Eth1).  You can come directly from the FP, or if you are using more than one controller, through a standard switch.  The switch provides you access by both the FP and your computer at the same time.
2.  Your pixels connect to the 4 outputs (marked S1, S2, S3 and S4). 
3.  Your power supply is connected to the green screw terminal at the bottom right (marked V and GND).  Be sure to connect it properly.  Also, check to make sure that the power jumpers are set for your power supply (12v is to the left, 5v is to the right. Both jumpers.)