Author Topic: USB to TTL CP2102  (Read 1510 times)

Offline dirknerkle

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Sep 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 11
  • Kudos: 0
USB to TTL CP2102
« on: March 27, 2015, 07:27:25 AM »
Just testing FPP and discovered that this adapter is automatically recognized as a proper USB device by FPP with no additional drivers to install. This is a USB->TTL dongle, uses the CP2102 chip and as such, is not subject to any of the FTDI issues that have arisen related to FTDI clones. A side benefit of this is both 5v and 3.3v pins for connecting other devices. Available on eBay for anywhere from $3-$6. Works slick!


Offline jnealand

  • Developer
  • ******
  • Join Date: Aug 2013
  • Location: Kennesaw, GA
  • Posts: 2,948
  • Kudos: 68
Re: USB to TTL CP2102
« Reply #1 on: March 27, 2015, 09:48:30 AM »
Now if someone would just post how to connect that to an RJ45 for us electronic illiterates I could order a couple to play with.  Thanks dirk.
Jim Nealand
Kennesaw, GA all Falcon controllers, all 12v Master Remote Multisync with Pi and BBB P10 and P5

Offline CaptainMurdoch

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2013
  • Location: Washington
  • Posts: 9,856
  • Kudos: 214
Re: USB to TTL CP2102
« Reply #2 on: March 27, 2015, 10:09:36 AM »
Now if someone would just post how to connect that to an RJ45 for us electronic illiterates I could order a couple to play with.  Thanks dirk.

This dongle won't work for DMX and PixelNet use for two reasons, first it is TTL instead of a normal RS232/RS485 signal, and second because DMX and PixelNet require non-standard speeds and I think the Linux driver for this chipset only supports the standard speeds.  Dave tested with FPP's Renard output which uses the standard speeds and I believe he connected the dongle to a wireless transmitter which used a TTL level input.
-
Chris

Offline dirknerkle

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Sep 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 11
  • Kudos: 0
Re: USB to TTL CP2102
« Reply #3 on: August 26, 2018, 09:00:05 PM »
CaptainMurdoch is correct -- the TTL output was routed to a wireless XBee dongle which requires only GND and signal connected to it.

 

Back to top