Author Topic: Stuck Pixel  (Read 895 times)

Offline bmeist

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Sep 2018
  • Location:
  • Posts: 7
  • Kudos: 0
Stuck Pixel
« on: September 23, 2018, 10:05:13 AM »
Hello all,


I'm a total noob and need some help.  I went to fire up my PiCap to get it ready for the season and when it powers up the blue pixel in my RGB floods comes on and stays on.  It won't let me test the lights with FPP.  They just don't respond.  I checked the voltage to/from the PiCap and all the floods and they are within range.  Anybody in the Chicagoland area that wants to help a guy get started with all this??

Offline Dennis Laff

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Mar 2016
  • Location: Burbank Il United tates
  • Posts: 89
  • Kudos: 2
  • Retired Machinist
Re: Stuck Pixel
« Reply #1 on: September 23, 2018, 12:28:12 PM »
Where are you located ? I live in Burbank Il close to Midway Airport

Offline JonB256

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Granbury, Texas
  • Posts: 5,297
  • Kudos: 127
    • Granbury Christmas Lights
Re: Stuck Pixel
« Reply #2 on: September 23, 2018, 01:53:23 PM »
I went to fire up my PiCap to get it ready for the season and when it powers up the blue pixel in my RGB floods comes on and stays on.  It won't let me test the lights with FPP.  They just don't respond.  I checked the voltage to/from the PiCap and all the floods and they are within range.  Anybody in the Chicagoland area that wants to help a guy get started with all this??

Assuming that your floods are DMX (you didn't say if they were Pixels or DMX), that sounds like you have the DMX Data Lines backwards. DMX has a Data + and a Data -   If you criss cross then, it never hurts anything but you can get what you're seeing.

Now, assuming that your floods are Pixel based (WS2811 protocol), you could be pushing Data into the "Out" end of the string instead of the "Input" end.

Offline bmeist

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Sep 2018
  • Location:
  • Posts: 7
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Stuck Pixel
« Reply #3 on: September 28, 2018, 03:19:39 PM »
Dennis, I'm in Geneva so not close to you.


JonB,


They're RGB Pixel floods from Holiday Coro.  I doubled checked my connections and they're correct.  Im at a loss

Offline Dennis Laff

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Mar 2016
  • Location: Burbank Il United tates
  • Posts: 89
  • Kudos: 2
  • Retired Machinist
Re: Stuck Pixel
« Reply #4 on: September 28, 2018, 04:20:08 PM »
How many floods do you have and are they all doing the same thing .

Offline bmeist

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Sep 2018
  • Location:
  • Posts: 7
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Stuck Pixel
« Reply #5 on: September 29, 2018, 07:31:35 AM »
I'm new to this so I only have 4 floods doing a wash on the house.  I wanted to start small and play around to figure it out before getter bigger.


They all (4) have the blue pixel on as soon as i plug in my controller and before FPP fires up.  I was doing some playing around and the pixel remains on even after I disconnect the data wire from the terminal. At this point they're just blue foods as the don't accept any commands even in test mode.


When I put it all together last year I had no issues except some flicker but Holiday Coro recalled the floods and and repaired them.

Offline algerdes

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Apr 2014
  • Location: Lebanon, Illinois
  • Posts: 915
  • Kudos: 13
Re: Stuck Pixel
« Reply #6 on: September 29, 2018, 09:47:46 AM »
Having a color stay on after disconnect is possible.  Try sending an "off" to the pixel before you disconnect.  If you are going to disconnect with the power applied (subject for a different day), you will know if it is the flood, or something else.
Sequencers: Vixen3 and xLights
Players: FPP and xSchedule Controllers:  Renards - SS24/SS16; E1.31 - San Devices E682 - Falcon F16, F4, F48 - J1Sys - DIYLEDExpress E1.31 Bridges.  Much more!

Offline JonB256

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Granbury, Texas
  • Posts: 5,297
  • Kudos: 127
    • Granbury Christmas Lights
Re: Stuck Pixel
« Reply #7 on: September 29, 2018, 09:51:13 AM »
If those are from HolidayCoro, they should be WS2811 compatible. Do you have any other controller (WS2811 outputs) available for testing?
Or a pixel tester?  (like the SP105e, which can test a whole range of 3-wire or 4-wire, 8-bit pixel types)
« Last Edit: September 29, 2018, 10:05:46 AM by JonB256 »

Offline Ebuechner

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Apr 2016
  • Location: Madison WI
  • Posts: 316
  • Kudos: 10
Re: Stuck Pixel
« Reply #8 on: September 29, 2018, 10:12:47 AM »
Are you sure that there pixel floods?
How many terminals on the plug?

Offline Dennis Laff

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Mar 2016
  • Location: Burbank Il United tates
  • Posts: 89
  • Kudos: 2
  • Retired Machinist
Re: Stuck Pixel
« Reply #9 on: September 29, 2018, 11:38:12 AM »
how many wires on the flood lights

Offline bmeist

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Sep 2018
  • Location:
  • Posts: 7
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Stuck Pixel
« Reply #10 on: September 29, 2018, 01:31:29 PM »
They are the 3 wire RGB 10w pixel floods from HolidayCoro.  They are wired using the schematic from HolidayCoro.  I have tried the other outlet on the PiCap without success.  I wish I had a pixel tester.  Looks like Ill be picking one up.

Offline Dennis Laff

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Mar 2016
  • Location: Burbank Il United tates
  • Posts: 89
  • Kudos: 2
  • Retired Machinist
Re: Stuck Pixel
« Reply #11 on: September 29, 2018, 02:39:23 PM »
I looked on Holiday Coro are they the floods for the 27 channel dumb controllers tell us the part number of the lights you bought .

Offline bmeist

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Sep 2018
  • Location:
  • Posts: 7
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Stuck Pixel
« Reply #12 on: September 29, 2018, 02:42:16 PM »
It's product code 169.  The smart pixel not the dumb.

Offline Dennis Laff

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Mar 2016
  • Location: Burbank Il United tates
  • Posts: 89
  • Kudos: 2
  • Retired Machinist
Re: Stuck Pixel
« Reply #13 on: September 29, 2018, 02:57:34 PM »
Did they work last year or are they new ?and did the pi cap work last year or is this a new setup for you..

Offline Ebuechner

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Apr 2016
  • Location: Madison WI
  • Posts: 316
  • Kudos: 10
Re: Stuck Pixel
« Reply #14 on: September 29, 2018, 03:27:54 PM »
If they turn on blue the moment you plug them in tells me that it's probably wired incorrectly.
Most 2811 chips won't turn on a light without a proper data signal I've been told there are some out there that will turn on a certain color if there's no data signal either way points towards a wiring problem if the pi cap is working.
Do you have any other pixels to hook up to the pi cap to confirm that it's outputting data?

 

Back to top