Author Topic: Taking the plunge...  (Read 912 times)

Offline algerdes

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Apr 2014
  • Location: Lebanon, Illinois
  • Posts: 847
  • Kudos: 12
Taking the plunge...
« on: June 12, 2014, 04:33:48 PM »
OK, I'm now convinced to go the route with Raspberry Pi and FPP.

Where is the best place to purchase the Pi?

Are "Model B" and "Version 2" the same thing?

Where can I find the plug-in to keep local time? (This will be used where there is no signals unless I turn on my mobile hotspot. - Not likely to happen on a regular basis - just periodically.)

If I use multiple Pi units with FPP do they each need the time card or will they pull from one?  (Can that one be set as the NTP server?)

Thanks for any guidance you can send this way.
Sequencers: Vixen3 and xLights
Players: FPP and xSchedule Controllers:  Renards - SS24/SS16; E1.31 - San Devices E682 - Falcon F16, F4, F48 - J1Sys - DIYLEDExpress E1.31 Bridges.  Much more!

Offline MyKroFt

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: NC Montana
  • Posts: 1,418
  • Kudos: 57
Re: Taking the plunge...
« Reply #1 on: June 12, 2014, 04:41:02 PM »

Offline algerdes

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Apr 2014
  • Location: Lebanon, Illinois
  • Posts: 847
  • Kudos: 12
Re: Taking the plunge...
« Reply #2 on: June 12, 2014, 04:53:57 PM »

Thanks. 


Online CaptainMurdoch

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2013
  • Location: Washington
  • Posts: 9,645
  • Kudos: 199
Re: Taking the plunge...
« Reply #3 on: June 12, 2014, 04:57:37 PM »
If I use multiple Pi units with FPP do they each need the time card or will they pull from one?  (Can that one be set as the NTP server?)

Only the master will need to have an accurate time, but I just made a note on my TODO to look at allowing the user to set the remote FPP units to look at the master to get their time instead of trying to go out to the internet.
-
Chris

Offline algerdes

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Apr 2014
  • Location: Lebanon, Illinois
  • Posts: 847
  • Kudos: 12
Re: Taking the plunge...
« Reply #4 on: June 12, 2014, 05:05:22 PM »
Thanks again.
Reviewing all the threads, I see that most updates are done during boot with a good network connection. I'll be updating the Pi(s) by bringing my cell phone with hotspot out from time to time, but they will not be connected to the Internet but on those times.  Can the update process be manually started?
« Last Edit: June 12, 2014, 05:13:55 PM by algerdes »

Offline David Pitts

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Falcon, CO
  • Posts: 3,924
  • Kudos: 76
Re: Taking the plunge...
« Reply #5 on: June 12, 2014, 05:51:53 PM »
Yes. There is a manual update button on webpage.
PixelController, LLC
PixelController.com

Offline algerdes

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Apr 2014
  • Location: Lebanon, Illinois
  • Posts: 847
  • Kudos: 12
Re: Taking the plunge...
« Reply #6 on: June 13, 2014, 03:05:22 PM »
 ;D
GREAT!  This thing may actually happen, and FOR THIS YEAR!  WOW!!!

Offline MyKroFt

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: NC Montana
  • Posts: 1,418
  • Kudos: 57
Re: Taking the plunge...
« Reply #7 on: June 13, 2014, 05:43:02 PM »
If I use multiple Pi units with FPP do they each need the time card or will they pull from one?  (Can that one be set as the NTP server?)

Only the master will need to have an accurate time, but I just made a note on my TODO to look at allowing the user to set the remote FPP units to look at the master to get their time instead of trying to go out to the internet.

What about slaves pulling program updates from the master as well?

Just thought of that off the top of my head a min ago

Myk

Online CaptainMurdoch

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2013
  • Location: Washington
  • Posts: 9,645
  • Kudos: 199
Re: Taking the plunge...
« Reply #8 on: June 13, 2014, 05:48:10 PM »
Depending on how the FPP to FPP sync occurs this could be possible as well.  It would save bandwidth and time when using a phone as a WiFi hotspot.



 

Back to top