Author Topic: GPIO Output  (Read 404 times)

Offline svatech

• Kudos: 0
GPIO Output
« on: October 31, 2018, 10:21:33 AM »
I am a noob at this and this is my first year with a musical display. I don't have any LED Pixels. i simply want to use the GPIO pins on my pi 3+ to drive 16 relays to turn dumb strings on and off. I've tried everything i can find on the internet and i can't seem to make it work. when i activate the outputs and reboot it all the relays turn on but thats all it does.

Offline jediosu

• Kudos: 1
Re: GPIO Output
« Reply #1 on: October 31, 2018, 10:40:22 AM »
Can you post a picture of your output screen showing what channels you have mapped to what GPIO pins and a picture of your PI with the pins connected? In my experience its usually an issue with the pins being mapped wrong on the pi.

Offline svatech

« Reply #2 on: October 31, 2018, 10:46:10 AM »
Here are pictures of my output and the pi itself

Offline JonB256

• Supporting Member
  • Kudos: 116
    • Granbury Christmas Lights
« Reply #3 on: October 31, 2018, 10:49:39 AM »
I am a noob at this and this is my first year with a musical display. I don't have any LED Pixels. i simply want to use the GPIO pins on my pi 3+ to drive 16 relays to turn dumb strings on and off. I've tried everything i can find on the internet and i can't seem to make it work. when i activate the outputs and reboot it all the relays turn on but thats all it does.

The GPIO output voltages are only 3.3volts and not very high current capability. They may not be enough to trigger your Relays from Open to Closed.

Too late for Halloween but my preference would be to get a pair of USB controlled Relay boards (8 relays per board) from http://www.icstation.com

They control as simple DMX channels, 1 thru 16 (if you define them that way)

Offline JonB256

• Supporting Member
« Reply #4 on: October 31, 2018, 10:52:15 AM »
OK, looking at your picture - are any of the Relays changing state? (clicking like crazy) ??