Author Topic: 5V or 12V ?  (Read 116 times)

Offline lolocaledo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Oct 2018
  • Location:
  • Posts: 6
  • Kudos: 0
5V or 12V ?
« on: November 09, 2018, 12:04:56 AM »
Hello,


is it better to use 12V or 5V for LED pixels?

Offline AAH

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Location: Australia
  • Posts: 638
  • Kudos: 19
  • Blinky blinky blinky
    • I love blinky lights
Re: 5V or 12V ?
« Reply #1 on: November 09, 2018, 01:26:26 AM »
5V is more efficient when it's nodes.5V offers better resolution when you're using strip.12V strip is more efficient than 5V strip.12V is more tolerant to voltage drop.There is no better. There is only better for a given application.

Offline dkulp

  • Developer
  • ******
  • Join Date: Sep 2013
  • Location: Framingham, MA
  • Posts: 1,235
  • Kudos: 68
Re: 5V or 12V ?
« Reply #2 on: November 09, 2018, 05:42:17 AM »
5V offers better resolution when you're using strip. 12V strip is more efficient than 5V strip.
That's not really true anymore.   There are two kinds of 12V strips that provide individual node control and thus the same resolution as the 5V strips.   I've used both:


12V strips with bucks on the back:
https://www.aliexpress.com/store/product/5m-DC12V-WS2812B-addressable-pixel-strip-waterproof-in-silicon-tube-30pcs-WS2812B-M-with-30pixels-36W/701799_32348237310.html?spm=2114.12010612.8148356.12.7d122c9cLqr9Zy
These have both a 12V line and a 5V line. There are bucks on the back that convert the 12V to 5V.   Fairly efficient, but the problem is you can only "cut" these in very specific locations as each buck feeds 1M of pixels.   So you need to be careful that your last cut "includes" a buck.  I've used these for my house outline.


12V with backup:
https://smile.amazon.com/gp/product/B07D48WVF4/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o04_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1
I used these for my son's Halloween costume.   These have only a 12V line, but have two data lines.   If one pixel goes out, the rest will still work.  I'll be switching my house outline to these this year.   Patching strip once up on the roof sucks. I'd rather have a non-working pixel that I can patch in the spring then an entire segment go out.





Dan Kulp

 

Back to top