Author Topic: Pixels stop responding  (Read 259 times)

Offline EricM

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2018
  • Location:
  • Posts: 4
  • Kudos: 0
Pixels stop responding
« on: November 20, 2018, 07:02:56 AM »
I will start with i am a NOOB. I just got my PiCap paired to my Raspberry PI 3 and hooked up with 300 led strip pixels that are DMX RGB. I did the test and they work great. I have an issue when i am playing with the custom chase. The pixels will freeze and the only way to get them to work again is to restart the falcon player. I also did a program on xLights that as soon as i start it, it will freeze. Any ideas??

Offline Bwinter

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Jul 2016
  • Location:
  • Posts: 434
  • Kudos: 10
    • First Show 2016
Re: Pixels stop responding
« Reply #1 on: November 20, 2018, 08:11:45 AM »
Do you have an audio file on the Pi?

Offline JonB256

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Granbury, Texas
  • Posts: 5,239
  • Kudos: 126
    • Granbury Christmas Lights
Re: Pixels stop responding
« Reply #2 on: November 20, 2018, 12:49:26 PM »
I have an issue when i am playing with the custom chase.

I also did a program on xLights that as soon as i start it, it will freeze. Any ideas??

What "custom chase" are you playing? From the FPP Test page?

You say DMX RGB pixels, but what "chipset" do they use?  GECE, WS2811, WS2812b, etc.
A link to where you bought them might help, also.

Offline EricM

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2018
  • Location:
  • Posts: 4
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Pixels stop responding
« Reply #3 on: November 20, 2018, 05:25:41 PM »
I do not have a audio file on the light show. I am playing the custom chase on the display Testing. The DMX pixels are WS2811. Here is the link. https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B071HD675B/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Offline JonB256

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Granbury, Texas
  • Posts: 5,239
  • Kudos: 126
    • Granbury Christmas Lights
Re: Pixels stop responding
« Reply #4 on: November 21, 2018, 09:59:08 AM »
I do not have a audio file on the light show. I am playing the custom chase on the display Testing. The DMX pixels are WS2811. Here is the link. https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B071HD675B/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Those are very generic WS2811 strips. You mention the custom chase as the problem. What about the 4 other built-in chases above that?
I've never messed with a custom chase so don't know much about it.
Their suggested string is:  FF000000FF000000FF
What are you using?

Offline EricM

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2018
  • Location:
  • Posts: 4
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Pixels stop responding
« Reply #5 on: November 21, 2018, 10:45:11 AM »
I mix a color below and click on append color to custom pattern. I did notice something, it seems to freeze if there is several sections of black.

Offline EricM

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2018
  • Location:
  • Posts: 4
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Pixels stop responding
« Reply #6 on: November 21, 2018, 10:46:34 AM »
The pre built chases work fine for the most part I have had it freeze once using those.

Offline JonB256

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Granbury, Texas
  • Posts: 5,239
  • Kudos: 126
    • Granbury Christmas Lights
Re: Pixels stop responding
« Reply #7 on: November 21, 2018, 04:04:01 PM »
my guess is that your custom chase is the problem.
easiest thing is to just use the built in. The test mode options are not intended as a show but just a way to check color order and malfunctioning pixels.

 

Back to top