Author Topic: Strange output on my P10 panels  (Read 501 times)

Offline mwestling

• Kudos: 0
Strange output on my P10 panels
« on: November 21, 2018, 06:22:28 PM »
I will preface this with the fact that I am a noob to P10 and FPP. My setup is as follows:
3x3 P10 1/4 scan panels (P10(3535)16x32-4S-M2.1)
Rasberry Pi 3B
PiHat from CFOL
FPP 2.4

Pictures of panel and FPP setup attached.

Here is my dilemma, when I run test from FPP the output does not seem to be what I would expect. An example is when I run the RGB chase, I would expect to see continuous vertical lines of RGB, what I get is every fourth column, it becomes a vertical line but those prior almost seem like they are driving more than the number of pixels that they should and they become scrambled. So, I tried just doing an output of 64 channels and I get two blocks of RGB output (see picture) and the block isn't even a full block. I would expect that if I ran a test using 96 channels, I would get the first line of pixels across the bottom displaying an RGB chase. When I do the same test in a sequence sent from Vixen, I get the exact same result so that is why I am suspecting that this is an issue in my FPP configuration.

I have also read something about needing to configure what scan the panels are as there are timing issues and I cannot seem to find where that setting is.

Offline JonB256

• Supporting Member
  • Kudos: 119
    • Granbury Christmas Lights
Re: Strange output on my P10 panels (1/4 scan)
« Reply #1 on: November 21, 2018, 06:45:44 PM »
I see from your text and pictures that your P10's are 1/4 scan instead of the much more common 1/8 scan.
Are they the waterproof models?

I am not positive that the PiMatrix supports the 1/4 scan.

It is specifically called out for use on a BeagleBone with Octoscroller, though.

Offline mwestling

Re: Strange output on my P10 panels
« Reply #2 on: November 21, 2018, 06:55:31 PM »