Falcon Christmas

PixelController . com => F48v4 Differential Controller (Blue) => Topic started by: pck on October 27, 2021, 03:15:01 PM

Title: F48V4 stopped communicating with Smart Receiver
Post by: pck on October 27, 2021, 03:15:01 PM
This issue is similar to an earlier post "F48V4 Output Stopping" by Cactus491 on Sept 25, 2021.

I have been working on my display using the F48V4 and two Smart Receivers V2 for a couple of weeks now with the rotary switch set to position "A". Everything has been going well until today. I turned on my test setup and couldn't get my pixels to light. Pixels worked using the  test button on Smart Receiver but wouldn't work using test on controller. None of the Data Leds on the Smart Receiver were on. Tried several different cables with no luck. Reset controller to defaults and started over with no luck. What did work was setting the rotary switch to "0" on the Smart Receiver. It appears the controller no longer works in "Smart" mode?

Thanks in advance.
Title: Re: F48V4 stopped communicating with Smart Receiver
Post by: darylc on October 27, 2021, 05:28:23 PM
I'd hit up the xlights zoom room for help
Title: Re: F48V4 stopped communicating with Smart Receiver
Post by: pck on October 28, 2021, 11:50:09 AM
I have solved my issue with Keith's and David's help.

I can't explain how, but the "Port Configuration" got changed back to non-smart mode (default) on the controller. I suspect it was caused by a "Clear All" command issued by me. I was using the xlights "Upload Output" to re-configure the controller after a "Clear All" (on Controller Port Configuration) and didn't notice that xlights "Upload Output" didn't configure the Ports as Smart Receivers (even though the F48V4 on the xlights " Controllers" tab was configured with "Full xlights control", Model set to "F48V4", and Variant to "4+4 Smart Receiver Chains"). Apparently the controller "Port Configuration" must be set manually to Smart Receivers (after a "Clear All" or reset to "Default") on the F48V4 controller.

Update from support@pixelcontroller.com: "Just telling xlights they are smart receiver chains is not enough ... you actually need to set the models to specific receivers ... this is because a receiver chain is also one receiver in dumb mode. If you don't set any models to a smart receiver then the upload will take those ports out of smart mode. This is normal and correct behaviour."

Ok,I changed the "Smart Remote" setting to "A" in the "Controller" section of the model "Layout" tab in xlights and now the "Upload Output" in xlights properly configures the ports as smart receivers.
Powered by SMFPacks Menu Editor Mod