News:

Server migration complete, Welcome to version 2.1.1

+-+-

+-User

Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.
 
 
 
Forgot your password?

+-Site Stats

Members
Total Members: 15476
Latest: mergeink
New This Month: 98
New This Week: 13
New Today: 8
Stats
Total Posts: 126888
Total Topics: 15559
Most Online Today: 105
Most Online Ever: 7634
(January 21, 2020, 02:14:03 AM)
Users Online
Members: 10
Guests: 64
Total: 74

Newbie question - Setup differential receiver on F16v3 in xLights

Started by 2Couyon, October 07, 2019, 04:48:33 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

2Couyon

Since I don't have the laptop plugged into the wire at the moment, it does not show the 10.10.10.x subnet.

You cannot view this attachment.
-SwinBro
..................... Newbie starting with RPi3, FPP v3.3 & Falcon F16v3, w/xLights and 500 pixels.

Poporacer

Do you have 2 routers? What router is tied to the 10.10.10.1 address and what router is tied to the 192.168.1.1 address?
If to err is human, I am more human than most people.

2Couyon

The wifi router is the only router. i have an ethernet hub connecting the F16v3 and FPP. There is no router, since they are on the same subnet.
-SwinBro
..................... Newbie starting with RPi3, FPP v3.3 & Falcon F16v3, w/xLights and 500 pixels.

Poporacer

The WIFI router you mention is your home network router? If the hub you mention is truly a hub, then I think all of your devices need to be on the same subnet (192.168.1.xxx) Where did you get the 10.10.10.xxx subnet from?
And to be sure, you have your home router at 192.168.1.1 and it is connected via an ethernet cable to the hub and the FPP is connected via Ethernet to the hub and the F16 is connected to the hub via an ethernet cable?

It would be nice to see the ipconfig with the cable connected
If to err is human, I am more human than most people.

2Couyon

Yes, my WIFI router is my home network, but the hub is not connected to anything other than the controller and the FPP. When I connect my laptop to the hub everything works. It does not require a router because they are all on the same subnet. (10.10.10.x) 

Attached is a picture of the controller, FPP, Laptop all connected to the hub/switch, along with the IPConfig from the laptop.

You cannot view this attachment.You cannot view this attachment.
-SwinBro
..................... Newbie starting with RPi3, FPP v3.3 & Falcon F16v3, w/xLights and 500 pixels.

2Couyon

I've just reset all the changes back on the FPP and Controller and everything works, but unable to upload sequences or make controller changes from xLights. 

This means that there is nothing wrong with my setup, it has to be something in xLights after the upgrade to FPPv3.3.

Since this is a different issue that what I started with in this post, I will close it.

Once I have xlights working correctly again, I may open a new post about the differential receiver.

Thanks for all the feedback!
-SwinBro
..................... Newbie starting with RPi3, FPP v3.3 & Falcon F16v3, w/xLights and 500 pixels.

Poporacer

Quote from: SwinBro on October 11, 2019, 05:38:25 PMI've just reset all the changes back on the FPP and Controller and everything works, but unable to upload sequences or make controller changes from xLights.
What do you mean that everything works? What did you change the settings to? Where are you trying to upload sequences to? The F16?

Quote from: undefinedThis means that there is nothing wrong with my setup, it has to be something in xLights after the upgrade to FPPv3.3.

After looking at your setup, I do think there is something wrong with your setup. It looks like you are trying to access different subnets through a switch (that isn't a hub) and not a router which won't work unless you do a lot more configuration and is not recommended. When the laptop is connected to the switch, it makes the connection between the 2 subnets. When your laptop is connected to the WIFI it is actually communicating with the FPP through the 192.168.1.xxx subnet and there is no way to communicate to the 10.10.10.xxx network so xLights cannot upload anything. If you disconnect the F16 from the switch and connect it to the Pi with the Ethernet cable, the Pi can act as sort of a router and pass the 10.10.10.xxx network traffic to the F16 as long as you setup a Static route or proxy.
If to err is human, I am more human than most people.

2Couyon

Updated to xLights 2019.58 and setup proxy setting and everything works.

You cannot view this attachment.
Now to get the setup differential receiver working. Should I start a new thread?
-SwinBro
..................... Newbie starting with RPi3, FPP v3.3 & Falcon F16v3, w/xLights and 500 pixels.

Powered by EzPortal
Powered by SMFPacks Menu Editor Mod