To Inject of NOT Inject?

Started by akakfreeman, October 09, 2019, 08:18:57 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

akakfreeman

I'm a rookie!
Controller: F16v3
Falcon Player on Raspberry Pi 3 B+
12 volt lights
 - Roofline has about 600 pixels (30LED/M strips in aluminum channel that will stay on the house year round)
 - Star, 6 layer with 270 pixels (Bullet pixels)
 - Arch with about 300 pixels (60LED/M strips)

I'm trying to decide whether to avoid any power injection by running more channels, or go to the effort of adding power injection to conserve channels. I'm assuming that on the roofline I would need to inject power 2 or 3 extra times (I plan to user power from the F16v3 for the first string). The star will likely need 1 power injection point, and the arch will likely need extra power at the end. If I do power injection I'm assuming I can use just 3 channels out of the 16. Without power injection I would likely use 4 channels for the roofline, 2 for the star and 2 for the arch for a total of 8.

I suspect down the road I would want more channels as I add more props and would either need to add power injection or buy more controllers. I assume there is no right/wrong way to do it, but was hoping the group could advise me of the pros and cons. I tend to think as a beginner the non power injection method may be best, but down the road it may require a lot of effort to add power injection and I assume I would have to edit my sequences a bit (reassign channels). Maybe it's better to just do the power injection now and be done with it.

Looking forward to all your advice!

Poporacer