News:

LATEST RELEASE:  FPP 6.1 - Download from here - https://github.com/FalconChristmas/fpp/releases/tag/6.1

+-+-

+-User

Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.

Forgot your password?

+-Site Stats

Members
Total Members: 15473
Latest: vb
New This Month: 95
New This Week: 10
New Today: 9
Stats
Total Posts: 126844
Total Topics: 15549
Most Online Today: 74
Most Online Ever: 7634
(January 21, 2020, 02:14:03 AM)
Users Online
Members: 6
Guests: 57
Total: 63

HELP!

Started by Scarpo, November 14, 2019, 03:41:07 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Scarpo

OK I am a senior and not used to forums, or pixels or controllers so please don't respond unless you are patient and forgiving.  I am also a newbie,  way behind schedule and I realize that.  But being retired and pretty handy... I think, given the right advice I could still pull this off even though it is the middle of November.

I am building a mega pixel tree for Christmas.  it will be 13 feet high with 48 strips of 50 intelligent pixels on PixNode Extreme strips.  The pixels will be 3 inches apart and I am currently looking at 12 v bullet or flat pixels running at about 40% power.  The tree will be about 350 degrees round.  I would rather not have to deal with power boosting at this point since I am running behind.

Being retired I can construct all of this in a matter of a few days using Walter Monkhouse's designs.

I would rather buy a ready to run controller because I do not feel comfortable enough... nor do I have enough time to put together my own controller system.  I am currently looking at the Falcon F16 v3 with 32 ports.

OK my questions are:
  • Is this adequate... overkill or not sufficient for my design?
  • Will I need expansion boards?
  • Should I look at a different system?

As of yet I have not purchased anything.  So I am very open to suggestions on lights, controllers, etc.  But I obviously need to purchase in the next few days if I have any chance of pulling this off by Christmas!