News:

LATEST RELEASE:  FPP 6.3 - Download from here - https://github.com/FalconChristmas/fpp/releases/tag/6.3

+-+-

+-User

Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.

Forgot your password?

+-Site Stats

Members
Total Members: 15658
Latest: CharlieOhio
New This Month: 8
New This Week: 2
New Today: 2
Stats
Total Posts: 128426
Total Topics: 15790
Most Online Today: 50
Most Online Ever: 7634
(January 21, 2020, 02:14:03 AM)
Users Online
Members: 2
Guests: 26
Total: 28

How to connect pixel strands to produce xLights layout

Started by awd_sr, November 06, 2020, 03:11:42 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

awd_sr

Hey everyone,

I'm new to FPP and xLights, but have FPP running on a Raspberry Pi 4 Model B, xLights installed on my PC, and have created a layout in xLights that I would like to install on my house. This year I will only be using ws2811 pixel strings, so the 2 GPIOs from the Pi will be enough (probably use just one unless it makes sense to use both). Anyway I have a couple of strands connected in the basement for testing purposes and have created a test sequence and confirmed it works, but this was just with the 2 strands connected in series.

I am attaching a pic of my layout, it is basically a house/roof outline. I used Single Lines in xLights to create each section and have been playing around with sequences, I just am a little confused on how to physically connect the segments so that the sequences will execute on the house as they do on the computer. Since I plan to use the single GPIO (pin 12/GPIO18), I imagine all the segments will need to be connected in a single, serial connection. I am not sure what sequence to connect them in to make sure things match up.

In the drawing I have labled the ends of each "run", which could be multiple strands. Can anyone shed some insights on the best way to connect the strands? My Pi will be installed in the garage, near one of the doors. Thanks for your help!

Bwinter