Users Online
Members: 6
Guests: 57
Total: 63

xlights controller question

Started by bossier17, April 18, 2021, 09:47:46 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

bossier17

I had a quick question about the controller screen on Xlights.  I'm sure this is a dumb question, but xlights does such a fantastic job configuring everything behind the scenes that sometimes I'm not sure what it is doing.   Everything is working fine, but I was wondering why on the controller page I have an F16V3 as well as an FPP and FPP1 listed?   When I watch tutorials it doesn't seem other people have these extra "controllers" show up.   

Thanks!

You cannot view this attachment.

jnealand

I'm not an expert, but this is my understanding. 

FPP is not normally a controller unless it has a hat or gpio connections.  We (been there done that) tend to list it because it is controlling our show, but in reality it is not a controller and should not be listed there.  I think the only way it gets there is if you put it there.  The way you get an FPP1 or xxx1 is because you added another device with the same default name without changing the name of the first one.  All my FPP are named with a logical name ie, "frontporch", " sideyard", "arches", etc.  If you go thru FPPConnect you will notice that it always searches for FPP instances.  it is searching the network and not your controller list.
Jim Nealand
Kennesaw, GA all Falcon controllers, all 12v Master Remote Multisync with Pi and BBB P10 and P5

pixelpuppy

Quote from: jnealand on April 18, 2021, 10:25:30 AMFPP is not normally a controller unless it has a hat or gpio connections. 
...or is operating in Bridge Mode.

Quote from: jnealand on April 18, 2021, 10:25:30 AMI think the only way it gets there is if you put it there.
...or if you click the "Discover" button on the xLights Controllers screen
-Mark

bossier17