Users Online
Members: 7
Guests: 61
Total: 68

How to connect F16V4 to Wifi Network

Started by barnn1151, September 17, 2021, 11:43:09 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

barnn1151

Has anyone made a tutorial on how to connect the F16v4 to a Wifi network? I am new to the hobby, but it seems I have everything configured correctly. I have manually connected other devices to this network, but having no luck with my new F16v4?!?

k6ccc

Someone who is more familiar with it will have to give details, but the WiFi capability of the F16 is highly limited.  I don't know if that changed with the F16v4 vs the F16v3.  NFD.
Using LOR (mostly SuperStar) for all sequencing - using FPP only to drive P5 and P10 panels.
My show website:  http://newburghlights.org

Jim

JonD

I don't think they have released a manual for the V4 yet.  I am not lucky enough to have my V4 board yet.   Best guess you will need to attach to it with an ethernet cable and see if you can configure it from the web admin page.  As far as I know WiFi never worked with the V3 boards.  If there are not any WiFi options on the admin page it might not be available yet. 

Unless you have a really small display, Wifi is not going to be a great option.  WiFi has a lot of lag and your lights will not change correctly, or not work at all.  You would not likely want to run the show from your home wifi network either.  You would want it on a separate network dedicated to the light show only.  Otherwise, someone at home streaming Netflix would cause issues. 

There are situations that WiFi comes in handy, but they are limited.  If you are new... you would be better off running a cord and getting them to work first, and then see if you can get them to work via WiFi.

jnealand

Wifi as used in a master remote setup does not have any LAG.  Wifi used for direct control, ie. no sequences uploaded to the controller will have LAG.  Blanket statements saying wifi has LAG are incorrect and should always be qualified.