News:

LATEST RELEASE:  FPP 6.1 - Download from here - https://github.com/FalconChristmas/fpp/releases/tag/6.1

+-+-

+-User

Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.

Forgot your password?

+-Site Stats

Members
Total Members: 15512
Latest: bfrisan
New This Month: 20
New This Week: 8
New Today: 8
Stats
Total Posts: 127205
Total Topics: 15614
Most Online Today: 71
Most Online Ever: 7634
(January 21, 2020, 02:14:03 AM)
Users Online
Members: 3
Guests: 15
Total: 18

Falcon F16V4 install on PC

Started by grumpy_pilot, October 06, 2021, 06:22:33 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

grumpy_pilot

Hi all, 

Please could someone point me in the right direction where to look on the forum, or if you could answer the below would be great too.

I have just bought the Falcon F16v4, my level is complete beginner. I do not have a R.Pi, I was planning on running the controller/show from my home PC. Is this advisable or should I invest in a R.Pi?

I currently have my board plugged into the Ethernet port on my PC for configuration all powered up.
Can anyone give me a step by step guide on how to install the controller for configuration on my PC. I have tried typing the ip address of the controller in the search bar. Nothing happens

I am not an IT guru (far from it), 

your help is greatly appreciated 

thanks

algerdes

To use the setup as you describe it, the IP address of your computer and the IP address of the controller need to be on the same "subnet".  (e.g., computer 192.168.1.10, controller 192.168.1.11) (Subnet is considered the first three octets). 

Your computer needs some sort of "player".  xSchedule is a good one that runs directly on the computer and comes with xLights.  Google it and you will find some really good instructions provided by its creator - Keith.  He is also one of the primary programmers for xLights.