Users Online
Members: 6
Guests: 34
Total: 40

Falcon F16v4 Working Over Ethernet, But Not Wifi

Started by Aviators, October 06, 2021, 09:46:10 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Aviators

Hey there, I'm fairly new to Falcon tech but somewhat experienced with Pixels. It took me a while of troubleshooting but I finally got a sequence playing from Xlights through my new F16v4 controller. The problem comes when I disconnect the Ethernet cable. I have changed the IP address accordingly so that Xlights points to the new wifi location, and even though nothing else has changed, the Falcon receives no packets and the lights stay off.

Theoretically, shouldn't swapping over to wifi change nothing? Though everything looks correct and works perfectly when set up via Ethernet cable, the data just won't go through. I can still access the GUI by using the IP over wifi. I can't seem to find out how to get this working wirelessly. Does everyone just end up using a FPP to drive this thing or should it work normally as a wireless pixel controller? I'm looking for a new solution here, if anyone has an idea. I appreciate the help.

darylc

It sounds like you are trying to send E1.31 or DDP/Artnet to the f16v4 over wifi?  This is not supported.

The use case for wifi on the f16v4 is to use fpp connect in xlights to upload your sequences to it, and tell xschedule or fpp that your f16v4 is a remote.

Likely the f16v4 manual explains more.

Aviators

Wow, for some reason I had assumed you could use it the same as an ESPixelStick or other wireless E1.31 reciever. I'll work on getting FPP hooked up to it for full functionality. In that use case, I assume the f16 via FPP *can* accept wireless E1.31 data? I haven't been able to locate the V4 manual so troubleshooting has been tricky. Thanks for the definitive answer!

Poporacer

Quote from: Aviators on October 07, 2021, 08:11:36 AMWow, for some reason I had assumed you could use it the same as an ESPixelStick or other wireless E1.31 reciever.