News:

LATEST RELEASE:  FPP 6.1 - Download from here - https://github.com/FalconChristmas/fpp/releases/tag/6.1

+-+-

+-User

Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.

Forgot your password?

+-Site Stats

Members
Total Members: 15497
Latest: packhawk
New This Month: 5
New This Week: 33
New Today: 5
Stats
Total Posts: 127092
Total Topics: 15590
Most Online Today: 98
Most Online Ever: 7634
(January 21, 2020, 02:14:03 AM)
Users Online
Members: 2
Guests: 51
Total: 53

Newbe with some questions

Started by ddavis1086, October 21, 2021, 09:18:18 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

ddavis1086

Hello all. I am new to all of this and have some questions please. 

I would like to control 6 strings of rgb pixels. 3 would be 50 pixels each and 3 would be 100 pixels each.

What is the minimum controller I could use that could be expanded for next year please? 

Also, I want to put this controller out in a garden area. How do I connect it a Raspberry Pi running xLights. Is there a Wifi connection available from controller to my network inside the house? Not sure how that part works.

All and any help is appreciated.

k6ccc

There are LOTS of ways to do this.  Here is MY opinion...

I am not a big fan of one massive controller that controls everything (either locally or with expansion devices).  I am also not a fan of massively long strings of pixels.  Both work, but have a larger impact WHEN (not if) something fails.  I have become very fond of the Falcon controllers as of late.  Dan Kulp also makes very good controllers, but I have no experience with them.   Either will run DDP of E1.31.  DDP is a more efficient protocol.  I used SanDevices controller for all my E1.31 for years and was very happy with them, but they are getting old and largely abandoned (too bad).  IMHO, avoid Holiday Coro controllers like the plague.