News:

LATEST RELEASE:  FPP 6.1 - Download from here - https://github.com/FalconChristmas/fpp/releases/tag/6.1

+-+-

+-User

Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.

Forgot your password?

+-Site Stats

Members
Total Members: 15532
Latest: travispauley
New This Month: 40
New This Week: 28
New Today: 6
Stats
Total Posts: 127446
Total Topics: 15647
Most Online Today: 74
Most Online Ever: 7634
(January 21, 2020, 02:14:03 AM)
Users Online
Members: 5
Guests: 25
Total: 30

Help with compatibility of lights

Started by Tandtmah, November 14, 2021, 12:53:34 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Tandtmah

Hello,
Newbie here.  A few years ago, I had professionally installed some proprietary lights.  After discovering the world of xLights/pixels/falcon player, I did some research into my lights. 

It looks like these lights were made by iPixel in China.  I sent them an email.  They use a proprietary controller, but there are 3 wires coming from the lights (positive, negative and data).  Their app says these are ws2811  IC, RGB.

I tried jumping the lights to my Kulp K16A-B Board.   When I turned everything on and tried "Display Testing" here were my issues:

1. Display Testing to a solid color (any).  Every 4th light matched the color I chose for testing, all other lights were multi-colors.
2.  Timing of lights worked fine.
3.  One string of lights remained on while the others were off after I turned off the Display Testing.  When I turned Display Testing back on, that string of lights turned off.

Does anyone know what could be wrong?

Thanks,

Terry

tbone321

Look at the other side where the LED's are and see how many there are.  If there are 4 of them, then you have 4 channel lights, R,G,B,W.  Even with 3 LED's, they could still be configured as 4 channel but it is much less likely.  If they are 4 channel nodes, Neither the controllers test feature or color order other than RGB will not work correctly and your testing and configuration will need to be done thru XLights.