News:

LATEST RELEASE:  FPP 6.1 - Download from here - https://github.com/FalconChristmas/fpp/releases/tag/6.1

+-+-

+-User

Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.

Forgot your password?

+-Site Stats

Members
Total Members: 15497
Latest: packhawk
New This Month: 5
New This Week: 33
New Today: 5
Stats
Total Posts: 127092
Total Topics: 15590
Most Online Today: 98
Most Online Ever: 7634
(January 21, 2020, 02:14:03 AM)
Users Online
Members: 4
Guests: 55
Total: 59

Starting with Pixels - How to put it all together

Started by bjarmstr, April 02, 2015, 11:11:34 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

bjarmstr

I have read a lot about different controllers, protocols, power injection etc.  Wow, there are too many choices out there! I have no experience with any of this equipment other than owning a few arduinos.  My original idea for this year was: 
The red stars are flood lights used to illuminate some plywood cut-outs.  The green line is a continuos line of lights under the eaves.

I have purchased:
1) 5 Strips:  Smart / Pixel RGB LED Strip 30 LEDs/m 10 Pixels/m Waterproof Tube (16ft-6in/5 meter Roll) - 12v / 2811 / 36w  (to do the roofline)
2) 1 String: 20 Count Smart / Pixel RGB LED Rectangle Module / 12v 2811 / 6" Spacing  (originally I was going to cut this to try making 3 flood lights)
3) 100 Feet of 4 Conductor 18 AWG Extension Cable for Dumb / Pixel / Smart Lights
4) Rain Proof Power Supply - 12v / 33 amps / 400 Watts
5) 1 Komby Sandwich and one RF1_12V receiver
6) a Raspberry Pi

And my plan was: