Members: 5
Guests: 43
Total: 48

vixenlights.com or vixenplus.com?

Started by rcowan, January 10, 2016, 10:25:21 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

rcowan

Hello all,

First year pixel noob here. I've been playing around with the software from vixenlights.com. However, when I did a recent search for something I was looking to do I discovered vixenplus.com as well. I have seen the Vixen software mentioned several times which is why I decided to give it a try. So my question now is, am I playing around with the correct version? Are they a split of each other? Are they completely independent? When people talk about using Vixen sequencer which one are they (more than likely) referring to? My end goal is to use FPP so obviously whichever sequencer I choose it has to export to FPP. Lastly (this is going to open up a can of worms), is Vixen the better (I know, everyone's opinion is going to be different) of the (free) sequencers or should I be looking at something else?

I know I've got quite a few questions here and I appreciate any and all advice from you seasoned pixelers (is that a term?). I'm sure I'm going to have many more as I have decided to jump in with both feet and have ordered over 2600 pixels and 3 F16v2 controllers. I will basically be outlining my whole house, erecting a megatree, placing a couple of arches (the Johnson family kind) and a 4 x 42 net covering for each of my pillars. I hope I haven't bitten off more than I can chew for my first year.

Thanks,
Rick
Rick Cowan

AussiePhil

Vixen and pixels in the same sentence usually means Vixen3 from Vixenlights.

I'm a huge fan of Vixen3 but even I swapped to xLights4 this year due to it's ability to handle much larger channel counts.

2600 pixels is less than 9,000 channels and well inside Vixen3's capability, my show this year was 80k channels and growing next year.

If you are looking at P10 panels or virtual matrix capability then swap to xLights4 now, your life will just be easier.

gadgetsmith