Users Online
Members: 1
Guests: 43
Total: 44

Serial Port Channel Numbers

Started by djmc2002, November 28, 2020, 12:19:06 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

djmc2002

Hey might be a dumb question but I'm new to using serial port on my F16.  How are they numbered? So for instance I have 10 3 channel floods lights and 2  6 channel fog machines defined in xLights starting at universe 26 channel 7. I then have a mega tree that is set to chain after the last fog machine.  My first flood is defined as 26:7 (13267) and my last fog machine is  26:48 (13308)- mega tree defined as 26:49 (13309)  

Is this the proper set up? I'm having strange problems that would seem to indicate I have a channel count off somewhere but I have check, rechecked, gone from full xLights control on the controller to me manually putting in every number and chaining models,  I'm stumped and wondering if the serial port thing is the issue since I have no past experience with them.

Thoughts and thanks!

pixelpuppy

On the F16 are you using Absolute Channel mode or Universe/Start Channel mode?

And what do you have the start channel set to on the serial output port on the F16?
-Mark

djmc2002

Quote from: pixelpuppy on November 28, 2020, 07:38:26 AMOn the F16 are you using Absolute Channel mode or Universe/Start Channel mode?

And what do you have the start channel set to on the serial output port on the F16?
I've tried it both ways -currently set to absolute- serial port is set to output 2 and channel 7

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

pixelpuppy

Quote from: djmc2002 on November 28, 2020, 10:11:25 AM-currently set to absolute- serial port is set to output 2 and channel 7
Not sure what you mean by "output 2" unless you mean Serial port 2.

If you're set to absolute channel mode and you set the serial port start channel to 7 then that DMX cable is going to start at absolute channel 7 but in xLights its absolute channel 13267.