Users Online
Members: 7
Guests: 47
Total: 54

power injectors

Started by tkuharski, December 25, 2021, 09:02:44 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

tkuharski

Hello Everyone.  Newbie here looking to get into the hobby.  Currently I have been trying to do some  pre research  and I would like to have a show for halloween and christmas 2022.    There are some amazing displays on here.  

Right now I do have some questions when it comes to the powering the pixels.  I am looking to do a small display next year and here is what i am looking to do.  

Most of my ideas would run anywhere from 200-300 pixels per output using the 30% brightness rule.   Maybe an average of 250 pixels using a mix of props and  1 24 x 50 matrix and or 400 pixel tree.  I am not looking to do any house outlines at this time.  

looking at both 5 v and 12 v options.  

I have seen that after 75 pixels on 5v needs power injection, and after 200 on 12v the same.  Is this correct?  

Based on what i have seen, it seems 12 v may be better option if I am going to 200-300 pixels per output.  Am I correct on this?  But I have also seen that 5 V maybe better for props.  

Has anyone run more than 150 pixels on a  5 v strand?  If was running 250 5 v pixels, would I need 2 power injections?  

I am looking at a falcon f16V3 ready to run for my controller in either 5 v or 12 v.

Could the either one have enough power for a total of lets say 4000 total 2811 bullet pixels? I tried one of the calculators i saw and at full white 5 v @ 30%  i may be around 333 watts of power from the power supply.  This does leave room for power injections from this power supply.  I would need a second one correct?  12 v seems to be at almost 800 W of power 
@ 30%, so I may be limited to under 2000 pixels on one power supply?

With the power injections, I would need an additional power supply correct?  Could I use the t injectors or the direct wiring from the power supply?