Falcon Christmas

Falcon Christmas => Falcon PiCap => Topic started by: smithzone on February 06, 2019, 07:58:35 PM

Title: PiCap and LOR CMB24D 24 Channel Dumb RGB Board
Post by: smithzone on February 06, 2019, 07:58:35 PM
So continue to run into challenges with getting these two to cooperate

Hardware side:

PiCap is jumpered to DMX and I am using the RJ45 Port on the PiCap
Normal piece of CAT6 (no crossover)

CMB24D is jumpered to DMX and switches are set to DMX70


FPP Side:

Other tab - Active, DMX-Open, Start Channel 3133, Channel Count 24, Port ttyAMOA
Channel Output - Line 10, Active, FPP start=3133, Universe 70, Size 24, Unicast, same IP as PI



Light on CMB24D blinks red, when I click "enable test mode" it goes solid, but no lights work

This set-up worked off a F16 last year with no issue.   I also have this same set-up three times over and none seem to work off PiCap, CMB24D works fine using LOR Hardware test (after moving jumpers to LOR)



Title: Re: PiCap and LOR CMB24D 24 Channel Dumb RGB Board
Post by: CaptainMurdoch on February 06, 2019, 08:06:46 PM
Is this FPP v2.x?

I have tested pixelnet with FPP v2.x but not DMX.  I will try to test in the next couple days.
Title: Re: PiCap and LOR CMB24D 24 Channel Dumb RGB Board
Post by: smithzone on February 06, 2019, 08:18:36 PM
Forgot to include - three setups doing the same.  Two on 2.6 and one on 2.5
Title: Re: PiCap and LOR CMB24D 24 Channel Dumb RGB Board
Post by: Bos Lights on February 06, 2019, 10:13:29 PM
Not sure if this info helps but I got DMX output from the PiCap working great using FPP 2.6.  I have two DMX floods directly connected to the DMX output on the PiCap using this wiring diagram:
https://www.halloweenforum.com/attachments/tutorials-and-step-by-step/112609-diy-dmx-contrlled-rgb-led-light-step-11.jpg (https://www.halloweenforum.com/attachments/tutorials-and-step-by-step/112609-diy-dmx-contrlled-rgb-led-light-step-11.jpg). At the end of the run I got also a DMX signal terminator in place.


Title: Re: PiCap and LOR CMB24D 24 Channel Dumb RGB Board
Post by: CaptainMurdoch on February 06, 2019, 10:22:12 PM
I just tested DMX output on a FPP v2.6 system with a PiCap talking to a 3-channel DMX controller and it worked correctly.  I'm thinking it must be your jumper settings or cable.

If you are using a LOR controller, don't you have to use the LOR jumper settings to get the signal on the right pins that the LOR controllers are using?  The LOR vs DMX vs REN jumpers are for the RJ45 pinout, not the protocol going over the wire.
Title: Re: PiCap and LOR CMB24D 24 Channel Dumb RGB Board
Post by: JerryPlak on February 07, 2019, 06:07:08 AM
adding to this
make sure that you have this check,  Always transmit channel data:
this on the FPP Global Settings page.
Title: Re: PiCap and LOR CMB24D 24 Channel Dumb RGB Board
Post by: algerdes on February 07, 2019, 07:05:47 AM
Some DMX devices need the ground as well.  Connect the XLR pin 1 to RJ45 pin 7 and/or 8. (Caution- doing this from memory as I am away from my notes.   ::) )

Title: Re: PiCap and LOR CMB24D 24 Channel Dumb RGB Board
Post by: pixelpuppy on February 07, 2019, 07:18:56 AM
I don't have any LOR stuff so I'm probably wrong, but I thought LOR uses different pins ... even if its running DMX protocol
(https://www.holidaycoro.com/v/vspfiles/assets/images/lorcat5-to-cat5-e111.jpg)
Title: Re: PiCap and LOR CMB24D 24 Channel Dumb RGB Board
Post by: smithzone on February 07, 2019, 08:01:51 AM
Not sure if this info helps but I got DMX output from the PiCap working great using FPP 2.6.  I have two DMX floods directly connected to the DMX output on the PiCap using this wiring diagram:
https://www.halloweenforum.com/attachments/tutorials-and-step-by-step/112609-diy-dmx-contrlled-rgb-led-light-step-11.jpg (https://www.halloweenforum.com/attachments/tutorials-and-step-by-step/112609-diy-dmx-contrlled-rgb-led-light-step-11.jpg). At the end of the run I got also a DMX signal terminator in place.

Thanks, it is all connected through standard CAT6 Cables
Title: Re: PiCap and LOR CMB24D 24 Channel Dumb RGB Board
Post by: smithzone on February 07, 2019, 08:07:17 AM
I just tested DMX output on a FPP v2.6 system with a PiCap talking to a 3-channel DMX controller and it worked correctly.  I'm thinking it must be your jumper settings or cable.

If you are using a LOR controller, don't you have to use the LOR jumper settings to get the signal on the right pins that the LOR controllers are using?  The LOR vs DMX vs REN jumpers are for the RJ45 pinout, not the protocol going over the wire.

Okay, that's good then - so probably hardware side......

I am using the DMX jumpers on the PiCap and this is a DC LOR board so it also has jumpers to go between LOR and DMX (they are jumpered to DMX as well).  I agree these jumpers are all about the pinouts on both boards, not the protocol.

I have this set-up three times over - so doubt bad cables or boards on all (plus they work from LOR dongle)
Title: Re: PiCap and LOR CMB24D 24 Channel Dumb RGB Board
Post by: smithzone on February 07, 2019, 08:10:20 AM
I don't have any LOR stuff so I'm probably wrong, but I thought LOR uses different pins ... even if its running DMX protocol
(https://www.holidaycoro.com/v/vspfiles/assets/images/lorcat5-to-cat5-e111.jpg)

it does for sure, but this is one of their DC boards and has jumpers to move the wiring config over to standard DMX setup (like on right)  So there shouldn't be a need for a crossover cable as the PiCap is also jumpered to DMX.





Title: Re: PiCap and LOR CMB24D 24 Channel Dumb RGB Board
Post by: smithzone on February 07, 2019, 08:23:36 AM
adding to this
make sure that you have this check,  Always transmit channel data:
this on the FPP Global Settings page.

This was not checked on any of them.   I have updated all of them, but still no luck.   I will rejumper one back to all LOR and see if that does anything.   The importance of this checkbox being ticked makes sense.
Title: Re: PiCap and LOR CMB24D 24 Channel Dumb RGB Board
Post by: K-State Fan on February 07, 2019, 10:17:23 AM
I use this setup for my singing pumpkin and remember having trouble getting it going but can not remember for sure what the issue was.  It seems like it was something with jumpers that did not make any sense.  I have not messed with since I got it going. I will look at it tonight.
Title: Re: PiCap and LOR CMB24D 24 Channel Dumb RGB Board
Post by: smithzone on February 07, 2019, 11:01:29 AM
I use this setup for my singing pumpkin and remember having trouble getting it going but can not remember for sure what the issue was.  It seems like it was something with jumpers that did not make any sense.  I have not messed with since I got it going. I will look at it tonight.

Thank you - EMAW!
Title: Re: PiCap and LOR CMB24D 24 Channel Dumb RGB Board
Post by: smithzone on February 07, 2019, 11:04:21 AM
adding to this
make sure that you have this check,  Always transmit channel data:
this on the FPP Global Settings page.

This was not checked on any of them.   I have updated all of them, but still no luck.   I will rejumper one back to all LOR and see if that does anything.   The importance of this checkbox being ticked makes sense.

Rejumpered to LOR on both and "heartbeat/sync" light on LOR board works, but still cannot get a test from FPP to run.
Title: Re: PiCap and LOR CMB24D 24 Channel Dumb RGB Board
Post by: smithzone on February 07, 2019, 11:19:22 AM
Okay - next attempt -


I jumpered PiCap and LOR CMB24D to the LOR pins and am using a known good CAT6 cable (not a crossover)

"Always transmit channel data" is checked

"Other" tab has been rebuilt to reflect the LOR set-up

Heartbeat/Sync light on LOR goes solid (which is good), but no output to floods in FPP test.   Floods work when I use LOR dongle and their software from PC.

LOR32=DMX50 if any confusion there - that is set on sliders on board
Title: Re: PiCap and LOR CMB24D 24 Channel Dumb RGB Board
Post by: pixelpuppy on February 07, 2019, 11:54:52 AM
I'm confused about the overall "big" picture.    Are you using two FPP's or one?   It looks like two and if that is the case it would be really helpful to see the Input AND Output settings and include "E1.31" as well as "Other" for both FPP's.

Are you sending e1.31 data over WiFi?    Its not necessarily a problem if that is what you want and they are both set correctly.  But it wouldn't hurt to include those networking details to help us help you ;)
Title: Re: PiCap and LOR CMB24D 24 Channel Dumb RGB Board
Post by: CaptainMurdoch on February 07, 2019, 01:19:03 PM
LOR32=DMX50 if any confusion there - that is set on sliders on board

Try it using ID 50 in FPP.  That field is a decimal number, the 32 is hex according to the table in the manual for the CMB24D.
Title: Re: PiCap and LOR CMB24D 24 Channel Dumb RGB Board
Post by: smithzone on February 07, 2019, 02:09:16 PM
I'm confused about the overall "big" picture.    Are you using two FPP's or one?   It looks like two and if that is the case it would be really helpful to see the Input AND Output settings and include "E1.31" as well as "Other" for both FPP's.

Are you sending e1.31 data over WiFi?    Its not necessarily a problem if that is what you want and they are both set correctly.  But it wouldn't hurt to include those networking details to help us help you ;)

I have three identical set-ups - Each Pi+PiCap are connected to their own CMB24D and 8 Floods

For testing I am using hardwired, but will migrate to Wi-fi once it works

Title: Re: PiCap and LOR CMB24D 24 Channel Dumb RGB Board
Post by: smithzone on February 07, 2019, 02:14:03 PM
LOR32=DMX50 if any confusion there - that is set on sliders on board

Try it using ID 50 in FPP.  That field is a decimal number, the 32 is hex according to the table in the manual for the CMB24D.

Interesting - 32 is the highest I can put in there, must be universe limit as it is assuming I am using 16 channel AC LOR boxes (16*32)

I will flip all the switches on the CMB24D and just go with "1" everywhere then retest
Title: Re: PiCap and LOR CMB24D 24 Channel Dumb RGB Board
Post by: CaptainMurdoch on February 07, 2019, 02:21:51 PM
Interesting - 32 is the highest I can put in there, must be universe limit as it is assuming I am using 16 channel AC LOR boxes (16*32)

I will flip all the switches on the CMB24D and just go with "1" everywhere then retest

That 32 limit comes my early-on non-knowledge of LOR when I wrote that Channel Output.  I will push a commit to FPP's master code branch which bumps that max value up to 240 (0xF0 LOR).
Title: Re: PiCap and LOR CMB24D 24 Channel Dumb RGB Board
Post by: smithzone on February 07, 2019, 02:48:34 PM

LOR32=DMX50 if any confusion there - that is set on sliders on board


Try it using ID 50 in FPP.  That field is a decimal number, the 32 is hex according to the table in the manual for the CMB24D.


Interesting - 32 is the highest I can put in there, must be universe limit as it is assuming I am using 16 channel AC LOR boxes (16*32)

I will flip all the switches on the CMB24D and just go with "1" everywhere then retest



Progress! - 5.33 Floods work (out of 8  )

So to recap where we are at hardware wise:

So to recap where we are at software wise:

Output/"Other" tab:Channel Outputs/"e1.31" screen

FPP Settings Screen:

"Always transmit channel data" is checked



So open question now - why do the last 2.67 RGB flood lights not work (17,18 and 19,20,21 and 22,23,24)?  They work if controlled from LOR dongle.  I am thinking the lightorama coding in FPP assumes the LOR boxes are only 16 channels (like the AC ones)?  That would explain why the first 5 floods work and only the red on six works (RGB) as that is 16 channels total.

Title: Re: PiCap and LOR CMB24D 24 Channel Dumb RGB Board
Post by: K-State Fan on February 07, 2019, 03:25:12 PM
I know that was the case when I first set mine up.
Title: Re: PiCap and LOR CMB24D 24 Channel Dumb RGB Board
Post by: CaptainMurdoch on February 07, 2019, 04:10:17 PM
why do the last 2.67 RGB flood lights not work (17,18 and 19,20,21 and 22,23,24)?  They work if controlled from LOR dongle.  I am thinking the lightorama coding in FPP assumes the LOR boxes are only 16 channels (like the AC ones)?  That would explain why the first 5 floods work and only the red on six works (RGB) as that is 16 channels total.

I have never seen any official specs on the LOR protocol.  I think I copied parts from the xLights source code and then later they copied back some of my changes from FPP.

I think I know what needs to change in the data packet to allow control of the last 8 channels, but would need someone to test some code changes.  I can commit these to the master code branch or a new branch to allow someone to test and if the test works, then I can look at getting the UI updated to allow sending more than 16 channels to a controller.  The UI will need to be updated to allow you to specify how many channels to send to each controller.
Title: Re: PiCap and LOR CMB24D 24 Channel Dumb RGB Board
Post by: smithzone on February 07, 2019, 04:15:27 PM
why do the last 2.67 RGB flood lights not work (17,18 and 19,20,21 and 22,23,24)?  They work if controlled from LOR dongle.  I am thinking the lightorama coding in FPP assumes the LOR boxes are only 16 channels (like the AC ones)?  That would explain why the first 5 floods work and only the red on six works (RGB) as that is 16 channels total.

I have never seen any official specs on the LOR protocol.  I think I copied parts from the xLights source code and then later they copied back some of my changes from FPP.

I think I know what needs to change in the data packet to allow control of the last 8 channels, but would need someone to test some code changes.  I can commit these to the master code branch or a new branch to allow someone to test and if the test works, then I can look at getting the UI updated to allow sending more than 16 channels to a controller.  The UI will need to be updated to allow you to specify how many channels to send to each controller.

Perfect - it will get complex in the UI development if people want to daisy chain 24->16->16 or whatever.  However, it sounds like you have a good handle on what is going on though.  Appreciate the support!
Title: Re: PiCap and LOR CMB24D 24 Channel Dumb RGB Board
Post by: K-State Fan on February 07, 2019, 05:38:34 PM
This is how mine is set up


PiCap Jumpers DMX
CMB24D Jumpers DMX


Straight Cable


Other Outputs


DMX-Open



Title: Re: PiCap and LOR CMB24D 24 Channel Dumb RGB Board
Post by: CaptainMurdoch on February 07, 2019, 05:50:52 PM
Perfect - it will get complex in the UI development if people want to daisy chain 24->16->16 or whatever.  However, it sounds like you have a good handle on what is going on though.  Appreciate the support!

I am thinking something simple, either a comma separated list of channel counts or maybe a little fancier with a set of drop downs or radio buttons that you just choose between 16/24.  I will think about it some.
Title: Re: PiCap and LOR CMB24D 24 Channel Dumb RGB Board
Post by: smithzone on February 07, 2019, 05:51:07 PM
This is how mine is set up


PiCap Jumpers DMX
CMB24D Jumpers DMX


Straight Cable


Other Outputs


DMX-Open

Okay, that is were I started as my preference was to use DMX, but did not work for me.

Did you set the sliders on CMB24d to the same Universe that is specified on e1.31 page (that then corresponds to the Start Channel on "other" tab)?
Title: Re: PiCap and LOR CMB24D 24 Channel Dumb RGB Board
Post by: smithzone on February 07, 2019, 05:51:44 PM
Perfect - it will get complex in the UI development if people want to daisy chain 24->16->16 or whatever.  However, it sounds like you have a good handle on what is going on though.  Appreciate the support!

I am thinking something simple, either a comma separated list of channel counts or maybe a little fancier with a set of drop downs or radio buttons that you just choose between 16/24.  I will think about it some.

Got it - thanks again!
Title: Re: PiCap and LOR CMB24D 24 Channel Dumb RGB Board
Post by: K-State Fan on February 07, 2019, 07:18:37 PM
This is how mine is set up


PiCap Jumpers DMX
CMB24D Jumpers DMX


Straight Cable


Other Outputs


DMX-Open

Okay, that is were I started as my preference was to use DMX, but did not work for me.

Did you set the sliders on CMB24d to the same Universe that is specified on e1.31 page (that then corresponds to the Start Channel on "other" tab)?


DIP Switchs are set to 000000001 to start on DMX channel 1


I do not have e1.31 enabled since I have nothing going out on e1.31 just the dmx from the picap.
Title: Re: PiCap and LOR CMB24D 24 Channel Dumb RGB Board
Post by: K-State Fan on February 08, 2019, 05:14:25 AM
After reading this again I am confused on your setup.

What are you sending e1.31 data to?
Title: Re: PiCap and LOR CMB24D 24 Channel Dumb RGB Board
Post by: smithzone on February 09, 2019, 09:19:11 AM
After reading this again I am confused on your setup.

What are you sending e1.31 data to?

Yeah, you are right - I can probably turn that off as well.  All these Pis, will be set as FPP remotes in the final setup (and not broadcasting).  They'll just own their own each respective CMD24D all using LOR protocol.
Title: Re: PiCap and LOR CMB24D 24 Channel Dumb RGB Board
Post by: smithzone on February 09, 2019, 10:07:26 AM
Perfect - it will get complex in the UI development if people want to daisy chain 24->16->16 or whatever.  However, it sounds like you have a good handle on what is going on though.  Appreciate the support!

I am thinking something simple, either a comma separated list of channel counts or maybe a little fancier with a set of drop downs or radio buttons that you just choose between 16/24.  I will think about it some.

I did a bit more research and you may want to include a couple more channel counts options in the interface while you are in there:



CTB04PC and the CTB04PC-ELL are both 4 channel (AC)

The big 50w RGB flood is 5 channel:

http://www1.lightorama.com/PDF/CF50D_UF50D_UserMan_Web.pdf (http://www1.lightorama.com/PDF/CF50D_UF50D_UserMan_Web.pdf)

I also see some older 8 channel products
Title: Re: PiCap and LOR CMB24D 24 Channel Dumb RGB Board
Post by: CaptainMurdoch on February 09, 2019, 10:21:59 AM
Ok, thanks for the info.  I will keep that in mind when I add something to the UI.