Falcon Christmas

Falcon Christmas => F48 Pixel Controller => Topic started by: Ecook007 on March 23, 2019, 05:44:03 PM

Title: Help F48/LOR
Post by: Ecook007 on March 23, 2019, 05:44:03 PM
Hello All,


I am having some major issues trying get my LOR Controller to work with My Falcon 48 using Xlights.
I have a standard Cat5 cable connected to an F48 to my computer (green).  Then I have the Cat5 cable connecting to the
F48 which I have linked to the LOR controller.  I have attach some photos on my configurations.


Any kind of help will be most appreciated....


Thank you in advance,
Eric
Title: Re: Help F48/LOR
Post by: Todd on March 23, 2019, 07:25:09 PM
Are you using the LOR dongle? or LOR in DMX mode? You have Com 3 set so  that says you should be using the dongle.
Title: Re: Help F48/LOR
Post by: Todd on March 23, 2019, 07:33:01 PM
And your LOR Universe 1 is set for E131 that says your trying to use it in DMX mode.
Title: Re: Help F48/LOR
Post by: Ecook007 on March 23, 2019, 07:44:09 PM
Hello Todd,


I do not have the dongle hook up, and the LOR is not configured for DMX.
Should I hook up the dongle?



Title: Re: Help F48/LOR
Post by: Todd on March 23, 2019, 07:51:40 PM
I run mine in DMX mode because I run my show from a Raspberry Pi with FPP so I don't use the dongle for the show. I just keep it around for updates. I would be happy to post the settings for you tomorrow. I have my Falcons and LOR out in the garage, building for this year. It was two years ago I set mine up and I haven't looked at the LOR settings since then. Mine are set up to run off the F16V3 but that shouldn't matter for the F48. I have an F48 but I never ran LOR off my F48.
Todd
Title: Re: Help F48/LOR
Post by: Ecook007 on March 23, 2019, 08:16:01 PM
That would be awesome,


Thank you,
Eric
Title: Re: Help F48/LOR
Post by: K-State Fan on March 24, 2019, 07:15:53 AM
I do not have a F48 but run 5 LOR controllers 4 of off F4V3s and one off a PiCap.  When you run LOR off a e131 controller it is just another e131 channel.  I use universe 1 for my LOR controllers.  I do not run this from xLights and use FPP like Todd does.


Disregard the other universes in my setup i am in the process of changing my system and have not updated my controllers yet.  I save all my set up screens in a spreadsheet and these images are from last years spreadsheet while the xlights one is current.


I set my jumpers to LOR and nor DMX do not think it maters I did it this way so I did not have to change the LOR controllers.  I am assuming standard 16 channel LOR controllers.







 
Title: Re: Help F48/LOR
Post by: Todd on March 24, 2019, 07:50:20 AM
Mine looks the same as Kstate except I use DMX output #2, like you have on your F48. I can't see from your pic which LOR controller you're using but make sure your LOR controllers have the correct firmware to function in DMX mode. You have the green boards so you should be OK. But go into the hardware utility in the LOR software to verify your controllers firmware. Looks like you'll need to be at least 4.20. Also if you've read about a crossover cable for LOR... DO NOT use a crossover cable. The Falcon controller does it for you with the LOR jumpers.

LOR CTB16D or K need 4.20 or higher
There is a CTB16PC Gen 3 which uses a firmware of 1.0* . I do not know what this one needs to run in DMX or if it even can. nIf you have this one I would upgarde to the newest firmware and give it a try.
Title: Re: Help F48/LOR
Post by: Ecook007 on March 24, 2019, 10:12:58 AM
Ok, I did everything exactly as K-State advised...I still cannot get the LOR controller to work.
Do I have have the dongle connect?


LOR Controller:  16PCG3 Ver 1.9  Firmware 4 3.18


Thank you,
Eric
Title: Re: Help F48/LOR
Post by: K-State Fan on March 24, 2019, 10:16:11 AM

I only use the LOR dongle to set IDs
What is the controller ID #
Verified the the cable is good?
Title: Re: Help F48/LOR
Post by: Todd on March 24, 2019, 10:22:01 AM
When you fire it all up, does the LOR box led change from flashing to steady?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Title: Re: Help F48/LOR
Post by: Ecook007 on March 24, 2019, 05:06:06 PM
Yes, When everything fires up the green light is steady on the lor controller.
Title: Re: Help F48/LOR
Post by: Ecook007 on March 24, 2019, 05:23:03 PM
Here a screen shot of my lor hardware screen.
Title: Re: Help F48/LOR
Post by: Todd on March 24, 2019, 05:26:30 PM
If the green light is flashing while the F48 is firing up and then goes to solid then it is receiving data from the Falcon. Are you running using the test or tying to run a sequence to see if it is working? If you are trying test, is it the xlights test or the Falcon test? Could you post your Xlights set up and the layout with the LOR models highlighted?
Title: Re: Help F48/LOR
Post by: Todd on March 24, 2019, 05:36:44 PM
It looks like the JP3 jumper for normal operation is set correctly on the LOR but it's hard to tell from the posted pic. Verify the jumper is set correctly.
Another question: Have you used this controller for AC lights before in the LOR world?
Title: Re: Help F48/LOR
Post by: Ecook007 on March 24, 2019, 05:42:54 PM
Yes the green light is flashing when the falcon is firing up then turns solid green.
The F48 is in run mode and I believe that the xlights is also in run mode..
Verified that all jumpers are set to lor.
Yes I have been using my lor controller for about 2 years....


Title: Re: Help F48/LOR
Post by: Todd on March 24, 2019, 05:52:11 PM
Can you post the Xlights Layout for LOR like attached. Iuse universe 50 for my LOR
Title: Re: Help F48/LOR
Post by: Ecook007 on March 24, 2019, 06:01:25 PM
I think you found the problem.  Mine does not look like yours...
Title: Re: Help F48/LOR
Post by: Todd on March 24, 2019, 06:17:21 PM
It was starting to look like a set up issue. Try what I have posted and see if that works for you.

I figured this out all on my own over the course of week or so. I walked away from it multiple times came back the next day and tried something else. All of the sudden I was starting to have things happen, not what I wanted. Lights went on or off, but not back on or off. The would flash when I did not want them to... But things were happening. Then over the next week of trying things I got it to "almost" work. Then I tried something I thought was the final piece, then nothing worked. Started all over, used what I had learned on what NOT to do and it went much smoother and then "it worked". I have learned more with RGB and running LOR in the RGB world by finding out how to not do it.

I hope this is your issue, if not we'll move on to see what else.
Let us know if it works
Title: Re: Help F48/LOR
Post by: Ecook007 on March 24, 2019, 06:36:47 PM

I will redo the layout in xlights and let you know what happens...

Thank you,
Todd
for your assistance and your patience....
Title: Re: Help F48/LOR
Post by: K-State Fan on March 25, 2019, 05:06:13 AM
My setup

Title: Re: Help F48/LOR
Post by: Todd on March 25, 2019, 05:22:16 AM
Kstate and myself have slightly different layout setups but they both accomplish the same thing. My 32 mini trees are 120v light sets with 250 LED and incandescent strings. (Gives them a nice silver and gold look by mixing them). so it doesnít matter if I tell xLights I have 1 light or 250 lights in each string. I just need to tell it I have 32 strings. I used single line in xLights so my mini trees show up in the preview as 1 dot each instead of looking like a mini tree.  Saves space on the preview pane.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Title: Re: Help F48/LOR
Post by: K-State Fan on March 25, 2019, 10:15:58 AM
Did not mean that yours was incorrect just wanted to show that it did not need to be set as one model.
Title: Re: Help F48/LOR
Post by: Todd on March 25, 2019, 10:17:06 AM
I know I was just letting him know there are multiple ways to accomplish the same thing.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Title: Re: Help F48/LOR
Post by: Ecook007 on March 30, 2019, 11:24:24 AM
I'm Back unfortunately,  I still cannot get my LOR to work with the F48 and Xlights.  I even tried starting from scratch.. still nothing.
I feel i am getting closer...Attach are my current setting.. Where am I going wrong...


As you can see my port setting are red.  I mess that up pretty good


Than for your assistance again
Eric
Title: Re: Help F48/LOR
Post by: Dennis Laff on March 30, 2019, 01:06:06 PM
Ecook what type of lights are you running off the LOR -!6 
Title: Re: Help F48/LOR
Post by: Ecook007 on March 30, 2019, 02:55:58 PM
ac lights
Title: Re: Help F48/LOR
Post by: Todd on March 30, 2019, 02:57:24 PM
What DMX port are you using? You canít use 1. It needs to be 2 or 3


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Title: Help F48/LOR
Post by: Todd on March 30, 2019, 03:00:47 PM
In your xLights set up under controller connection the protocol box needs to show DMX.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Title: Re: Help F48/LOR
Post by: Ecook007 on March 30, 2019, 03:08:14 PM
Hello Todd,


I changed it to dmx and ran the sequence and still not working...

Title: Re: Help F48/LOR
Post by: Ecook007 on March 30, 2019, 03:09:34 PM
Should I change the jumpers to dmx on the Falcon?
Title: Re: Help F48/LOR
Post by: Todd on March 30, 2019, 03:09:48 PM
Your set to port 1 in the xLights set up. Change it to port 2 and make sure the LOR is plugged into DMX port 2 on the falcon


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Title: Re: Help F48/LOR
Post by: Todd on March 30, 2019, 03:10:28 PM
No the jumpers need to stay LOR. The jumpers take the place of a crossover cable


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Title: Re: Help F48/LOR
Post by: Todd on March 30, 2019, 03:17:20 PM
I just you a PM. Give me a call and I will go through it with you. I have mine up and running.