Falcon Christmas

Welcome => The Water Cooler => Topic started by: JonB256 on September 11, 2013, 04:11:38 AM

Title: Chat is not opening for me
Post by: JonB256 on September 11, 2013, 04:11:38 AM
I click. Nothing happens.
I click. Nothing happens.

sad
Title: Re: Chat is not opening for me
Post by: David Pitts on September 11, 2013, 04:15:49 AM
Same here. I opened another window and it opened.
Title: Re: Chat is not opening for me
Post by: JonB256 on September 11, 2013, 04:26:27 AM
Working now. I opened IE10 and tried and it worked.
Then I went back to Chrome and it worked.

odd, but working :)
Title: Re: Chat is not opening for me
Post by: Frankr on September 11, 2013, 07:17:59 AM
i have noticed that the chat link works properly from the home page but will fail from deeper locations. I am using Chrome.

Frank
Title: Re: Chat is not opening for me
Post by: Frankr on September 11, 2013, 07:25:00 AM
The issue is in the html:

<a class="firstlevel" href="chat/index.php">

This is causes the link to only work when the current link is at the depth /forum/<page>  when you are viewing a thread it is deeper and this causes the link to fail.  Once it fails it you keep pressing it you will just add "chat" another level deep in your current address.

Frank
Title: Re: Chat is not opening for me
Post by: MyKroFt on September 11, 2013, 11:05:30 AM
The menu code for the store, wiki & chat are all setup the same, but store, wiki work fine from anywhere, chat is the only one having problems.....

Code: [Select]
'WIKI' => array(
'title' => 'Wiki',
'href' => 'http://www.falconchristmas.com/wiki/',
'show' => true,
'sub_buttons' => array(
),
),
'Store' => array(
'title' => 'Store',
'href' => 'http://www.falconchristmas.com/shop/',
'show' => true,
'sub_buttons' => array(
),
),
'Chat' => array(
'title' => 'Chat',
'href' => 'http://www.falconchristmas.com/forum/chat/',
'show' => true,
'sub_buttons' => array(
),
),

Tony
Title: Re: Chat is not opening for me
Post by: Frankr on September 11, 2013, 11:35:29 AM
Interesting. The HTML of the served page differs from what that code would imply...
Title: Re: Chat is not opening for me
Post by: Frankr on September 11, 2013, 11:42:54 AM
Here is the html from just view source inside chrome:
Code: [Select]
                                 <li id="button_chat">
<a class="firstlevel" href="chat/index.php">
<span class="firstlevel">Chat</span>
</a>

vs the html for wiki

Code: [Select]
<li id="button_wiki">
<a class="firstlevel" href="../wiki/index.php" target="blank"">
<span class="firstlevel">Wiki</span>
</a>
</li>

Looks like the forum engine is replacing the fully qualified path with a relative path but it gets broken for deeper pages in the forum.

Frank