Falcon Christmas

Falcon Christmas => Falcon F-16 Pixelnet Controller => Topic started by: cbell on December 31, 2013, 07:43:42 AM

Title: F16 5V capability
Post by: cbell on December 31, 2013, 07:43:42 AM
I think from searching I know the answer to this, but wanted to verify.  It looks like the F16 is only capable of running 5V pixels on half the board.  IE 12V has to be connected to the logic side, but the other half could be powered by 5V and run, for example, 5V WS2811 pixels.  Is this the case?

Could you connect 5V to both sides if you removed and bypassed the 5V regulator?
Title: Re: F16 5V capability
Post by: David Pitts on December 31, 2013, 07:56:51 AM
Yes you can. You also need to remove and jumper across where diode goes.
Title: Re: F16 5V capability
Post by: JonB256 on December 31, 2013, 08:35:46 AM
I'd just jumper the diode and leave it in place in case I went back to 12vdc.

Future enhancement could be to include a jumper there (but it would have to handle more current than some jumpers are rated for)
Title: Re: F16 5V capability
Post by: drlucas on May 07, 2014, 06:19:45 PM
Did anyone test this yet? I just got a small string of 5V strobes and wanted to test them out (2811 chip). I have a bunch of F16s, but no 5v supplies. I'm going to go check to see if any of my old power supplies from the DL380s I have have a way to pump out 5v if I jumper it a different way, or if I'm going to have to go seek out a 5v supply else where.
Title: Re: F16 5V capability
Post by: pk on May 09, 2014, 08:44:17 AM
Last season I ran 5V strings on the F16 by powering the left half of the board from +5VDC.  It work great.  The right half was powered from +12VDC and I also had strings connected to that side. 
Title: Re: F16 5V capability
Post by: mms on May 09, 2014, 12:48:46 PM
Video here:

http://youtu.be/A4ihJRnDMbQ
Title: Re: F16 5V capability
Post by: drlucas on May 09, 2014, 04:10:16 PM
Thanks folks. I'm putting the order in with Ray next week so will give this a review and make sure I don't kill the strip
Title: Re: F16 5V capability
Post by: spomalley on May 10, 2014, 03:31:05 AM
Just wondering, will the F-16 v2 allow 5v to be run natively on each side of the board or will it also need to be adapted?

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

Title: Re: F16 5V capability
Post by: drlucas on May 10, 2014, 05:03:45 AM
That would be great to have a 5/12v jumper and just feed the f16 with 12v and it regulates it down to according to what is sent to it. Of course I don't understand how electricity works so that just might not be easily done!

That said - two comments on this video. Neat topper and I have the exact same kitchen chairs!
Title: Re: F16 5V capability
Post by: drlucas on May 31, 2014, 02:16:39 PM
Well that video really makes it look easy - so hopefully tomorrow when I get back home I can give things a try. my 5v power supplies arrived from Ray this week and I have two 5v 12A PSUs to play with now.
Title: Re: F16 5V capability
Post by: David Pitts on May 31, 2014, 05:00:50 PM
The new Falcon 16 v2 will be able to support different voltages with jumpers.
Title: Re: F16 5V capability
Post by: drlucas on May 31, 2014, 07:07:28 PM
Sign me up as an early adopter
Title: Re: F16 5V capability
Post by: Steve Gase on August 05, 2015, 01:22:48 AM
I thought F8v1 and F16v1 both supported 5v strings.  Reading this thread, I see that its not that easy. 

F16v1 supports 5v on one side of the board, but needs 12v where the PIC us found.

Extrapolating from this, 12v is required for the F8v1 and 5v is not supported.

I'd like to get more info on modding the boards to allow 5v.  I have a lot of 5v strips now, and this would be a good solution for my needs.

Can someone provide a marked-up pictures of the both boards (F8v1 and F16v1) that show the changes? ...and also some instructions to go with those pictures?

(not sure what it means to 'bypass' the 5v regulator, and where exactly the diode is found...  guessing it is marked D9 on the board, but not sure)
http://falconchristmas.com/forum/index.php?action=dlattach;topic=330.0;attach=282;image (http://falconchristmas.com/forum/index.php?action=dlattach;topic=330.0;attach=282;image)
Thanks!!
Title: Re: F16 5V capability
Post by: plaberge on August 06, 2015, 12:02:01 AM
Can someone provide a marked-up pictures of the both boards (F8v1 and F16v1) that show the changes? ...and also some instructions to go with those pictures?

+1
Title: Re: F16 5V capability
Post by: patdelaney on August 06, 2015, 05:48:04 AM
Video here:

http://youtu.be/A4ihJRnDMbQ

Great tree Topper-
 So it looks looks like you are using 1 cat5 cable for 2 outputs to the topper. If so can you sketch out a connection diagram and post that or just PM me, but I think others may find it useful.

Pat
Title: Re: F16 5V capability
Post by: algerdes on August 06, 2015, 07:39:57 AM
Very good idea.

Are you going to cap the top of them, or leave them open?
With the 4" - 1/2" reductions you are doing, the upper section could fill up pretty quickly. 

Thoughts?
Title: Re: F16 5V capability
Post by: Steve Gase on August 06, 2015, 08:06:36 AM
Video here:

http://youtu.be/A4ihJRnDMbQ

Great tree Topper-
 So it looks looks like you are using 1 cat5 cable for 2 outputs to the topper. If so can you sketch out a connection diagram and post that or just PM me, but I think others may find it useful.

Pat
thanks for showing this pat...  there's a lot of good stuff in there.

i like what you are doing, but it doesn't answer my question about how to run F8v1 and F16v1 with 5v exclusively.    In the video you use 12v for half the board and 5v for the other half...  a standard feature.  you could use all 16 ports at 5v if you relied on power-injection concepts to use the data signal for the 12v ports but the power from the other supply.

i'm trying to use F8v1 without 12v and no power injection.  I'm trying to run a prop with a single 5v supply to power my FPP, the controller, and the 5v pixels... and also trying to leverage the on-board fuses.

So, still looking for alterations to F8v1 (and F16v1 is good to know) so that I can run 5v exclusively.

Thanks!
Title: Re: F16 5V capability
Post by: gadgetsmith on August 06, 2015, 09:08:27 AM

Great tree Topper-
 So it looks looks like you are using 1 cat5 cable for 2 outputs to the topper. If so can you sketch out a connection diagram and post that or just PM me, but I think others may find it useful.

Pat

Pat, don't want to clutter this thread, so I put what I do for this situation.  This guy was an inspiration for this type of wiring, and also the sphere topper I made.  Thanks mms!
http://falconchristmas.com/forum/index.php/topic,2688.0.html

... now back to figuring out how to convert both sides of the F16 to 5v!
Title: Re: F16 5V capability
Post by: David Pitts on August 06, 2015, 11:37:51 AM
Steve. Two mods. Cut out small diode and jumper across where it was. Then pull out 5v regulator. Then jumper from input to output pin on regulator pads. The regulator is standard 7805 pinouts

Sent from my LGLS990 using Tapatalk

Title: Re: F16 5V capability
Post by: Steve Gase on August 06, 2015, 11:46:12 AM
Steve. Two mods. Cut out small diode and jumper across where it was. Then pull out 5v regulator. Then jumper from input to output pin on regulator pads. The regulator is standard 7805 pinouts

Sent from my LGLS990 using Tapatalk

thanks, david.  still need a bit more... :)

the diode... that's D9, right?
why the need to cut out the diode? ...wouldn't the jumper bypass the diode?

so the regulator is the 7805 (and not the LD33)?
since it has 3 pins, which is input and which is output as I look at the frint of the  board and have the pins coming out towards the bottom of the board?
and the same question... why the need to remove the regulator if I am jumpering around it?

the reason I ask about the need to remove parts is so that the board might be returned to a 12v solution if ever needed.

thanks!
Title: Re: F16 5V capability
Post by: David Pitts on August 06, 2015, 11:52:43 AM
I do not have a board in front of me. There is only one diode so that is easy to find. As far as regulator i would not tie input and output together. I would remove it. Not sure about leaving diode in. Both modes can run without it. You just lose reverse protection with 12v without it. As far as pinouts it is the most common regulator found Mouser has a data sheet. Later i may be able to download data sheet or board layout.

Sent from my LGLS990 using Tapatalk

Title: Re: F16 5V capability
Post by: David Pitts on August 06, 2015, 12:25:27 PM
On the regulator. Regulator pads 1 and 3 should be tied together after regulator is removed. See datasheet.
http://www.mouser.com/ds/2/389/CD00000444-249828.pdf (http://www.mouser.com/ds/2/389/CD00000444-249828.pdf)

The package is TO-220.
Title: Re: F16 5V capability
Post by: Steve Gase on August 06, 2015, 09:12:36 PM
That worked!  Thanks, David!!

Attaching photo of the mod to the F8v1-5v ...

Note: All controller LEDs will light at 5v, blue activity, power, and fuses.