Falcon Christmas

Falcon Christmas => Falcon PiCap => Topic started by: Northernwarrior on March 29, 2017, 02:41:33 PM

Title: Been covered by still stuck. Re: wifi
Post by: Northernwarrior on March 29, 2017, 02:41:33 PM
For the life of me I cannot get wifi to work.  It shows an IP when etho is connecting.

In some instructions it states you cannot have both on same submask ( if memory serves ), but I have no idea how to change that.  When I try and change Internet isn't working

Static for etho 192.168.1.132
wireless 192.168 2.130 

The 2 isn't reconized.

All I have is my rpi and picap.  I just want to be able to use wifi to get in and to transfer files back and forth

Any ideas for this noob ?
Ron
Title: Re: Been covered by still stuck. Re: wifi
Post by: rlemery on March 29, 2017, 02:56:46 PM
The wlan 0 needs to be on the same subnet as your router. Eth0 can be left as dchp or set to another subnet.  Example,  if you wifi is 192.168.1.1 then your wlan0 needs to be 192.168.1.???. If eth0 is on the same subnet wifi won't work when the lan is disconnected.

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk

Title: Re: Been covered by still stuck. Re: wifi
Post by: rlemery on March 29, 2017, 02:58:26 PM
Auto inserted smiley face.  Lol . Was question marks.

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk

Title: Re: Been covered by still stuck. Re: wifi
Post by: Northernwarrior on March 29, 2017, 03:55:53 PM
I tried giving both statics
192.168.1.130
192.168.1.131

It doesn't like that :)

Funny thing though I'm connected when etho is plugged it but I can't seem to get into the usb stick by file manager.    Doesn't show up on my network

I'm stumped
Title: Re: Been covered by still stuck. Re: wifi
Post by: algerdes on March 29, 2017, 06:01:55 PM
Different subnets needed

For example
192.168.1.xxx
192.168.200.xxx
Title: Re: Been covered by still stuck. Re: wifi
Post by: Northernwarrior on March 30, 2017, 07:32:05 AM
And that is what I'm confused about.  How do I chnage then access the different sub net?
Title: Re: Been covered by still stuck. Re: wifi
Post by: jnealand on March 30, 2017, 08:31:02 AM
Set your eth0 to dhcp, wifi to a static address on your wifi network.  power off, unplug the network cable, power back up, and connect to wifi using your computer, tablet or smartphone connected to the same network.  If you will be using more than one Pi set your hostname to something easy to remember. I use megatree, master, minitrees, etc as my names.
Title: Re: Been covered by still stuck. Re: wifi
Post by: deplanche on March 30, 2017, 08:38:25 AM
You might want to take a look at this thread for how to access the FPP when on a different subnet.

http://falconchristmas.com/forum/index.php/topic,4231.0.html

You have to tell your device or router, where to look for it, otherwise you aren't going to be able to see it.
Title: Re: Been covered by still stuck. Re: wifi
Post by: danj on March 30, 2017, 11:01:45 AM
bump so I can find this one later....
Title: Re: Been covered by still stuck. Re: wifi
Post by: Emuney18 on March 30, 2017, 12:23:24 PM
Do what jnealand said.  Put eth0 as dhcp.  You are not going to use it with the PiCap so don't mess with it.  If you decide you want to buy a pixel controller then look at the post deplanche referenced.