Falcon Christmas

Falcon Christmas => Falcon PiCap => Topic started by: gpvillamil on January 03, 2019, 04:43:23 PM

Title: SOLVED: How to set jumpers on PiCap for WS2812? Not lighting up.
Post by: gpvillamil on January 03, 2019, 04:43:23 PM

The solution was to provide 5V power through the PiCap AND set the jumper to 5V.


===================================================

Ok, I have a strand of WS2812 (Neopixel) LEDs connected to one of the ports.


Power is applied. I'm using the Adafruit Neopixel libraries to drive the LEDs using PWM port 18.


However, nothing is happening.


Do I need to do anything with the hardware jumpers to set this up?
Title: Re: How to set jumpers on PiCap for WS2812? Not lighting up.
Post by: Bwinter on January 03, 2019, 04:59:40 PM
You're powering the pixels off the Pi?


What voltage pixels?  You're using a Neopixel Library with a PiCap?
Title: Re: How to set jumpers on PiCap for WS2812? Not lighting up.
Post by: Bwinter on January 03, 2019, 05:00:54 PM
Is that an HDMI connector thrown in there (for good measures)?


{insert confused dog.jpg}
Title: Re: How to set jumpers on PiCap for WS2812? Not lighting up.
Post by: gpvillamil on January 03, 2019, 05:07:44 PM

Yep, powering off the Pi. 4amp supply. There are not many pixels.


Those are 5.5v Neopixels.


I specifically want to use Python to drive the Neopixels, just using the PiCap to simplify the hardware connection. There is other stuff running on the Pi that requires Python.


If the PiCap is using GPIO PWM, it should work.


(This setup has worked without the PiCap, just hooking everything up via a breadboard)


The HDMI is going to a monitor.

You're powering the pixels off the Pi?


What voltage pixels?  You're using a Neopixel Library with a PiCap?
Title: Re: How to set jumpers on PiCap for WS2812? Not lighting up.
Post by: Bwinter on January 03, 2019, 05:12:35 PM
Haven't you just tried the normal process first, to ensure that everything is working/connected properly?  I.e., load FPP and test out your pixels first.  It's much easier to trouble shoot when you take a step-by-step approach.
Title: Re: How to set jumpers on PiCap for WS2812? Not lighting up.
Post by: pixelpuppy on January 04, 2019, 07:36:02 AM
I'm using the Adafruit Neopixel libraries to drive the LEDs using PWM port 18.



PWM port 18 feeds pixel string port #1 on the PiCap.  From the picture it looks like your pixel string is connected to PiCap port #2 (which is fed by the Pi gpio #19)
Title: Re: How to set jumpers on PiCap for WS2812? Not lighting up.
Post by: gpvillamil on January 04, 2019, 12:39:46 PM

OK I've set up FPP 2.5.


Added my LED string to the Channel Output page, saved and restarted FPP.


Nothing is lighting up when I go to Status/Control, Display Testing and select a pattern.

Haven't you just tried the normal process first, to ensure that everything is working/connected properly?  I.e., load FPP and test out your pixels first.  It's much easier to trouble shoot when you take a step-by-step approach.
Title: Re: How to set jumpers on PiCap for WS2812? Not lighting up.
Post by: Bwinter on January 04, 2019, 01:04:34 PM
Do you have both port 1 (GPIO 18) and port 2 (GPIO 19) configured?  Did you "enable"?  Can you provide a screen-shot of the config tab?


Have you check the output on the Pi to verify that it's actually supplying 5V?
Title: Re: How to set jumpers on PiCap for WS2812? Not lighting up.
Post by: Poporacer on January 04, 2019, 02:08:46 PM
Also, are you missing something? I only see the Data and V+ power connected to the string. Do you have the string grounded somewhere else?
Title: Re: How to set jumpers on PiCap for WS2812? Not lighting up.
Post by: Bwinter on January 04, 2019, 02:12:11 PM
Also, how does the Falcon PiHat "jumper" the V+ for 12V v 5V (thus bypassing the buck-converter)?
Title: Re: How to set jumpers on PiCap for WS2812? Not lighting up.
Post by: gpvillamil on January 04, 2019, 04:09:38 PM

Ground is hooked up. It's a black wire so harder to see.

Also, are you missing something? I only see the Data and V+ power connected to the string. Do you have the string grounded somewhere else?
Title: Re: How to set jumpers on PiCap for WS2812? Not lighting up.
Post by: gpvillamil on January 04, 2019, 04:11:28 PM

This I would dearly  love to know.

Also, how does the Falcon PiHat "jumper" the V+ for 12V v 5V (thus bypassing the buck-converter)?
Title: Re: How to set jumpers on PiCap for WS2812? Not lighting up.
Post by: gpvillamil on January 04, 2019, 04:14:27 PM

Here's what I have set up.


When I go to Test mode, I set up a test and then enable Test mode.

Do you have both port 1 (GPIO 18) and port 2 (GPIO 19) configured?  Did you "enable"?  Can you provide a screen-shot of the config tab?


Have you check the output on the Pi to verify that it's actually supplying 5V?
Title: Re: How to set jumpers on PiCap for WS2812? Not lighting up.
Post by: JonB256 on January 04, 2019, 04:18:39 PM
The power jumper layouts are printed on the "underside" of the PiCap

As far as Test Mode and output, do you have the RasPi in Master or Standalone mode?
Title: Re: How to set jumpers on PiCap for WS2812? Not lighting up.
Post by: gpvillamil on January 04, 2019, 04:20:29 PM

Standalone.


Good info on the power jumper layouts, thanks!

The power jumper layouts are printed on the "underside" of the PiCap

As far as Test Mode and output, do you have the RasPi in Master or Standalone mode?
Title: Re: How to set jumpers on PiCap for WS2812? Not lighting up.
Post by: gpvillamil on January 04, 2019, 04:29:06 PM

I take it the attached picture means that putting a jumper between 2&3 sets output to 5v.


What does the other jumper do? It appears to be labelled PWR PI on the top surface.

The power jumper layouts are printed on the "underside" of the PiCap

As far as Test Mode and output, do you have the RasPi in Master or Standalone mode?
Title: Re: How to set jumpers on PiCap for WS2812? Not lighting up.
Post by: dkulp on January 04, 2019, 04:50:14 PM
Those are for setting the power going INTO the Pi from the power connector on the board.  There isn't a way to power the pixels from the Pi directly.  You have to have power going into the power connector on the hat.
Title: Re: How to set jumpers on PiCap for WS2812? Not lighting up.
Post by: Bwinter on January 04, 2019, 04:59:22 PM
Are you getting 5V out of the actually connector (that they pixels are connected to)?
Title: Re: How to set jumpers on PiCap for WS2812? Not lighting up.
Post by: JonB256 on January 04, 2019, 05:38:43 PM
For 5v, I just hang that "extra" jumper off the #4 pin, doing nothing. Otherwise, you'll lose that little sucker.
Title: Re: How to set jumpers on PiCap for WS2812? Not lighting up.
Post by: gpvillamil on January 07, 2019, 12:34:17 PM

Ah great, that helps.


So if you have a 5v 4A supply, you just set the jumper bridging pins 2 & 3?


(What does it do, really? Are you just bypassing a 5v regulator in this case?)

Those are for setting the power going INTO the Pi from the power connector on the board.  There isn't a way to power the pixels from the Pi directly.  You have to have power going into the power connector on the hat.
Title: Re: How to set jumpers on PiCap for WS2812? Not lighting up.
Post by: gpvillamil on January 07, 2019, 01:17:03 PM

Thank you, good tip.

For 5v, I just hang that "extra" jumper off the #4 pin, doing nothing. Otherwise, you'll lose that little sucker.
Title: Re: How to set jumpers on PiCap for WS2812? Not lighting up.
Post by: gpvillamil on January 07, 2019, 03:08:32 PM
Everything is working great.


I needed to provide 5V to the connector on the PiCap and set the jumper to the 5V position.


I can now drive the pixel strip directly from Python, using both the Adafruit neopixel library, and the rpi_ws281x library.


Thank you all for your help!