Falcon Christmas

Falcon Christmas => Falcon Smart String Utility => Topic started by: rdebolt on December 01, 2013, 07:03:00 PM

Title: Colors Change with Universe? Solved... I think!
Post by: rdebolt on December 01, 2013, 07:03:00 PM
Okay riddle me this guys! I am using 4 Pixelnet universes set up as this,


1= First 512 dmx, Megatree (Driven with Falcon 16) start @ 1217, unused channels in between
2= Megatree with 1216 unused at the end
3= Arches Start channel 1, Window outlines, garage outline
4= All roof, multiple


All driven with SSC V3 Falcon firmware through Active hubs


Arches are made of flex strips. The colors for the Arches do not match RGB on Universe 3. Windows and garage do! If I change the hub to universe 1 colors match. What am I missing here? Does not matter if I run ETD either, does the same thing.


Oh BTW My setup is PI>FPD>Active hub> SSCs
HELP PLEASE this is driving me CRAZY(er)!


Roger
Title: Re: Colors Change with Universe?
Post by: jnealand on December 01, 2013, 08:36:07 PM
Reminds me of something I recall from a long time ago where the channel numbers just happened to change the RGB lineup.  Wish I could remember more. but it was something I saw on DLA and I am thinking that rrowan explained it.
Title: Re: Colors Change with Universe?
Post by: Steve Gase on December 01, 2013, 08:47:18 PM
what software are you using to drive the lights?  did you establish where R starts in each universe?
If using xLights, the boundary between universe will cause a shift since a universe size is not a multiple of 3.

For example, in xLights with 8 pixelnet universes, I have channel 1 defined as R, 4097 is B, 8193 is G, etc.

since your SSC is not adjusted to match the shift, you experience the behavior described.
Title: Re: Colors Change with Universe?
Post by: rdebolt on December 02, 2013, 07:47:29 AM
Steve I am using NC\Xlights, "Test" RGB Cycle. Maybe I am just not awake yet, but not sure I understand what you are saying.




Wait a minute, just hit me, You are probably correct with this. I would have NEVER figured that out! Thanks for the information!


Roger
Title: Re: Colors Change with Universe? Solved... I think!
Post by: Steve Gase on December 02, 2013, 07:54:39 AM
Glad to help. :-)
Title: Re: Colors Change with Universe? Solved... I think!
Post by: jnealand on December 02, 2013, 08:07:19 AM
Thanks Steve, that was exactly the info that I slightly recalled from DLA.  How do you remember all this stuff?
Title: Re: Colors Change with Universe? Solved... I think!
Post by: David Pitts on December 02, 2013, 02:04:54 PM
I am lost and do not comprehend what you guys are talking about. It could be I just woke up. Stevee said in his firsy post that the arches were all on universe 3. So they do not cross a boundary. So he can set his start address to 1 as far as SSC goes but in software he sets it to 8193. It should be that easy no other calculating.
Title: Re: Colors Change with Universe? Solved... I think!
Post by: Steve Gase on December 02, 2013, 07:02:41 PM
I am lost and do not comprehend what you guys are talking about. It could be I just woke up. Stevee said in his firsy post that the arches were all on universe 3. So they do not cross a boundary. So he can set his start address to 1 as far as SSC goes but in software he sets it to 8193. It should be that easy no other calculating.

i interpreted the question: "why does the SSC, driven by xlights TEST MODE produce different colors when it is moved to different universes?"

xlights does not know or care about individual string starting channels.
without changing the SSC starting channel, he moves the SSC to a different universe and gets different results with xlights.

lets say his SSC is set at channel 1. 
on universe 1 the xlights channel is 1 and mod 3 means this is Red. 
on universe 2 the xlights channel is 4097 and mod 3 means it will appear Green.
etc.

Title: Re: Colors Change with Universe? Solved... I think!
Post by: David Pitts on December 02, 2013, 07:30:28 PM

But what you are saying is true for tester only. When you are playing a sequence or a model in preview the starting channel is used and is always red.
Title: Re: Colors Change with Universe? Solved... I think!
Post by: David Pitts on December 02, 2013, 09:56:39 PM
Sorry guys. I am not reading the post as carefully as I should and feeling the pressure of putting up the show. So sorry jumping in half cocked when I do not have the details because I have not read the posts.
Title: Re: Colors Change with Universe? Solved... I think!
Post by: rdebolt on December 03, 2013, 08:56:12 AM
I am really glad that Steve answered this! Last night ran a mini sequence and my Mega tree was off on color!  :o  It looked fine in "Test" cycle! Reprogrammed my 2 16s and boom right back in business! WOW was that easy to change! Thanks to David for making it so easy to change the setup! Within 2 minutes everything was as it should be.